Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Wisconsin Gas Problem Tra-10D


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 sacsr ONLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted December 12, 2013 - 06:12 AM

Not sure what is going on. I can see the gas in the filter slowly go out as the motor is running, and about the time it the motor is running out of gas, the filter will start filling back up again with gas. I have cleaned the gas tanks and the valve under the tank. It acts like the gas is cut off from the tank. Sometimes the gas will start flowing and some times it will just run out of gas. The motor runs fine when it is not running out of gas.
I have run it with the gas tank cap off thinking it was a vacuum lock, but that did not seem to have any affect on it.

Any suggestions?

Edited by sacsr, December 12, 2013 - 06:13 AM.

  • Texas Deere and Horse and JRJ have said thanks

#2 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted December 12, 2013 - 08:14 AM

I know you said you cleaned the tank, but could there be something inside that floats around and covers the screen on the outlet?

Hang another tank temporary and see if it does the same on that tank.
  • Alc, sacsr and JRJ have said thanks

#3 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,795 Thanks
  • 7,541 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted December 12, 2013 - 08:25 AM

I'd suspect the lines. If they are rubber and you got some gas with a high alcohol content they might have swelled internally and are constricted. Check the fuel flow as it goes into the carb. I've had to replace fuel lines on my most used machines this year. Good Luck, Rick


Edited by boyscout862, December 12, 2013 - 08:25 AM.

  • Alc, Texas Deere and Horse, sacsr and 1 other said thanks

#4 Kfs35 ONLINE  

Kfs35
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 22474
  • 395 Thanks
  • 411 posts
  • Location: SE Michigan

Posted December 12, 2013 - 08:53 AM

I had a very similar problem on my 1050/1053.  I ended up changing the filter, fuel lines, and shutoff valve.  There was just enough restriction in the fuel flow to starve the engine above about half throttle, and after changing all of those, it runs perfectly.

 

Bob


  • Alc, Texas Deere and Horse, sacsr and 2 others have said thanks

#5 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,648 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted December 12, 2013 - 09:07 AM

If there ends up no restrictions in the lines whatsoever, then I'd say the float is sticking due to being bent & rubbing the carb bowl, OR the needle is sticking in it's seat due to wear.

  You can take off the carb, then turn carb upside down, back upright, repeat.  You should hear the float move freely each time.  If not, it's hanging up.  


  • Texas Deere and Horse, sacsr, boyscout862 and 1 other said thanks

#6 framesteer ONLINE  

framesteer
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11301
  • 331 Thanks
  • 164 posts
  • Location: East Moline, IL

Posted December 12, 2013 - 10:45 AM

Could be something as simple as the gas can cap not venting properly.  If there is no vent, then the running engine pulls a vacuum in the tank and fuel will not flow.


  • sacsr said thank you

#7 sacsr ONLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted December 12, 2013 - 10:48 AM

I had put new hoses and filter and had cleaned the shut off. I have another shut off I am going to try. If that does not fix it will check the carb. Thanks

#8 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,692 Thanks
  • 17,206 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted December 12, 2013 - 11:10 AM

Are you using the proper fuel filter?

Some are designed for use with a fuel pump only and will not work well on gravity fed carbs.....


  • Texas Deere and Horse, HowardsMF155 and sacsr have said thanks

#9 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted December 12, 2013 - 11:22 AM

Are you using the proper fuel filter?

Some are designed for use with a fuel pump only and will not work well on gravity fed carbs.....

 

Doc. is right, I forgot about that.!!



#10 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,648 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted December 12, 2013 - 11:27 AM

Easy to check.  Pull the fuel line off the carb.  If it flows well & continues after several seconds into a container, then it's in the carb.


  • Texas Deere and Horse and sacsr have said thanks

#11 sacsr ONLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted December 12, 2013 - 11:38 AM

Well check it out tomorrow when I have time- the filter could be the answer, it maybe that the bush hog is rejecting that John Deere filter :-)


  • Texas Deere and Horse and KennyP have said thanks

#12 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted December 12, 2013 - 11:55 AM

Well check it out tomorrow when I have time- the filter could be the answer, it maybe that the bush hog is rejecting that John Deere filter :-)

 

That's the problem, BH will not run with JD on it. Your lucky it didn't throw a rod or something!! :poke:

 

:bigrofl: :bigrofl: :bigrofl: :bigrofl:


  • KennyP and sacsr have said thanks

#13 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,648 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted December 12, 2013 - 12:04 PM

That's the problem, BH will not run with JD on it. Your lucky it didn't throw a rod or something!! :poke:

 

:bigrofl: :bigrofl: :bigrofl: :bigrofl:

 

 

OH CRAPS!  My V4-6 has a variable sheave unit off a John Deere 110!   :wallbanging:  :wallbanging:  :wallbanging:  :wallbanging:  :(


  • Texas Deere and Horse, KennyP and sacsr have said thanks

#14 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 13, 2013 - 10:12 AM

OH CRAPS!  My V4-6 has a variable sheave unit off a John Deere 110!   :wallbanging:  :wallbanging:  :wallbanging:  :wallbanging:  :(

May need an exorcist for that one, Daniel! :thumbs:


  • sacsr said thank you




Top