Utah Smitty

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5557
  • 1,643 Thanks
  • 1,746 posts

Posted December 07, 2013 - 12:52 AM

Every winter I watch in frustration and sadness as my poor lil' tractors have to endure the snow and cold. I've managed to adopt some out to kind, caring souls who will see that they have plenty of nutritious hydrocarbons to eat, and healthy exercise in all seasons.

Still, my CC 1862, Case 444, Dayton 3Z68, and good ol' Troybilt Horse were looking forward to another dreary winter. (The Bolens is too tough and proud to worry about any snow--plus I need it in the front clear the drive way when the city plow trucks leave a 2 foot berm across it).

I've been batting around ideas for a couple years now as to how best to house and shelter my lil' darlings.

I priced out putting up a shed on the back of the house or along the side of the garage, but felt my money was better spent on um.... new members of the family.

Then the idea hit me... I'd seen the canvas "garages" at Harbor Freight-why couldn't a person do the same, but use trampoline frames and canvas???  (See I do have a thought ever now and then)...

I didn't want no "blue" tarp, as they generally last about a year before they're in tatters and leaving little blue pieces throughout the yard...

I did some checking in our local online classifieds--much better than CL, BTW, and found people that sell billboard tarps... The old days of billboards made of paper glued up in sections is rapidly fading in the past... remember the old song "Smoke Coca Cola cigarettes, drink Wrigley's Spearmint beer, and Kennel Ration Dogfood keeps your wife's complexion clear...." (Now that's dating myself)  Nowadays a billboard is made from a large printed canvas and stretched over a frame.  When the canvas is taken down, it often is in usable shape, and quite large-- approx. 15' x 40'.