Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

1976 Massey Ferguson MF10, Should I rebuild?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 zolt OFFLINE  

zolt

• Member No: 1713
  • 10 Thanks
  • 90 posts

Posted December 19, 2010 - 04:36 PM

Thanks to all who replied to my rambligs...
I will post pictures of my new toy (MF 10) soon,
and, being a newbie, i have more questions,
what kind of transmission/axle is in this MF10(it is a 4 speed variable speed), i'm asking cuz i have a JD 111 with an 806 E peerless 5 speed that seems very 'weak', the input and crown gear i think are toast in it. (lots of funny noises when i let out the clutch in any gear)---
I actually got this MF 10 bcause I found the JD a little too flimsy---I do realize it is just a lawn tractor and I hope I do not offend anyone with my comments. As a matter of fact the little Deere is in exc. shape and I will post photos of it as well as soon as it is back together,
sooooo many more questions ........

also, i got a snow blower with the MF 10, and do not really want to keep it. My questi on is -what is it worth? (looks ok, and of course i will check it all out)

#2 MFGray OFFLINE  

MFGray

• Member No: 154
  • 129 Thanks
  • 122 posts

Posted December 20, 2010 - 01:13 PM

I think it is a Peerless Model 2309A. At least that is what is in my MF12G and I think there should be no difference. Good luck with it.

George.

#3 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts

Posted December 20, 2010 - 01:35 PM

Zolt, We like ramblings...and pictures...and questions here. Looks like you've come to the right place! Can't wait to see them.

#4 mikebramel OFFLINE  

mikebramel

Ron Paul

• Member No: 82
  • 176 Thanks
  • 1,009 posts

Posted December 20, 2010 - 03:24 PM

the mf10 trans is very popular look for a john deere 110/112/200 series trans