Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

B80 Questions


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#16 twostep OFFLINE  

twostep

    Rockstar

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10198
  • 1,850 Thanks
  • 2,476 posts
  • Location: Berea, KY

Posted December 05, 2013 - 10:58 PM

As for the front, i wasnt planning on cutting holes in the front, i would just drill 1 small hole on each side of the hood or grille and mount 2 led spot lights.

Have you considered mounting a single 6" LED bar behind where the headlight blank is right now?

 

Something like this:

 

e-series-led-light-bar-rig-10611-mc_4857


Edited by twostep, December 05, 2013 - 10:58 PM.

  • CubHorse80 said thank you

#17 CubHorse80 OFFLINE  

CubHorse80
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19713
  • 159 Thanks
  • 318 posts
  • Location: Cincinnati

Posted December 09, 2013 - 11:36 AM

Have you considered mounting a single 6" LED bar behind where the headlight blank is right now?

 

Something like this:

 

e-series-led-light-bar-rig-10611-mc_4857

hmmm, thats an interesting idea! i like the look of 2 seperate lights though so maybe 2 3" lights where the headlights go.



#18 twostep OFFLINE  

twostep

    Rockstar

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10198
  • 1,850 Thanks
  • 2,476 posts
  • Location: Berea, KY

Posted December 09, 2013 - 11:44 AM

That would be nice. I know some guys that run these on thier Polaris RZR's and they are amazingly bright. Post up what you end up going with.



#19 CubHorse80 OFFLINE  

CubHorse80
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19713
  • 159 Thanks
  • 318 posts
  • Location: Cincinnati

Posted December 12, 2013 - 08:59 AM

UPDATE:

i havent done any lights yet, however i plowed with it for the first time last week!

 

I CANT BELIEVE HOW GOOD THIS THING PLOWS SNOW!

 

6 inches no problem with no weights or chains!

 

I do wish however i could put downpressure on the blade, and it may need a new scraper bar. but other than that it worked perfectly!



#20 GlenPettit OFFLINE  

GlenPettit
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 34353
  • 520 Thanks
  • 143 posts
  • Location: MI (South of Lansing)

Posted December 12, 2013 - 09:26 AM

You can get down pressure, but you'll have to make a solid flat bar to replace the loose chain, it's an easy alteration but worth it:

 

Screenshot2013-12-12at92147AM_zpsf682969

 

 

Glen

 

 

Here's a response from Garry in Canada on the measurements for this part:

Posted 09 July 2013 - 09:03 AM


From my notes.

Lift link 7706 1/4"x1-1/4" flat stock 12-1/2" OL 3/8" pins 11-1/2" c/c, Pins stick out 5/8"

 

You remove the mower lift arm and chain and install the long link to the lift arm on the lift.

 

I think I made one of these. Drilled holes in the bar for 3/8" bolts about 2" long. Cut the threads off and drilled small holes for quick pins. Welded the heads of the bolts to the back side of the flat stock with each facing opposite directions. This way you do not need a large offset in the bar to line it up vertically. The small pin holes are 90 degrees to the bar with a good chamfer on each hole so the pin easily finds the hole. That way I know where the pin holes are and can install the pins blind.

 

Garry


Edited by GlenPettit, December 12, 2013 - 09:59 AM.

  • js5020, CubHorse80 and TAHOE have said thanks

#21 TAHOE ONLINE  

TAHOE
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 24522
  • 6,491 Thanks
  • 4,947 posts
  • Location: "Hamiltucky" Ohio

Posted December 12, 2013 - 09:43 AM

I am really glad you are happy with it, beats it sitting under a tarp for the next couple years at my place.

I didn't notice the blade until we loaded in your truck, the outside edges were kind of curve a bit, new cutting edge in your future!

 

When I hooked the blade up for your pictures, I did notice the slot on the blade attchment, I was wondering what that was for. Must be used with the bar to give you a little float, but yet still use for down pressure.


  • CubHorse80 said thank you

#22 CubHorse80 OFFLINE  

CubHorse80
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19713
  • 159 Thanks
  • 318 posts
  • Location: Cincinnati

Posted December 12, 2013 - 12:53 PM

I sure am glad its not sitting under a tarp!

 

1 question...

 

1. Can i still buy new cutting edges?



#23 GlenPettit OFFLINE  

GlenPettit
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 34353
  • 520 Thanks
  • 143 posts
  • Location: MI (South of Lansing)

Posted December 12, 2013 - 03:57 PM

New replacement cutting edges for a Wheel Horse Plow Blade still available, YES.

Christopher Boyd in Kingston, PA makes and sell those replacement blades, with SS nuts & bolts and the correctly placed SQUARE holes.  His prices seem very fair, the shipping was $12.83 to Michigan and his total price for a 42" blade last January was only $35, including the shipping . . . and making five square holes by hand is no easy task in 1/4" thick steel.  These blades are reversible and it should be done well before they wear down to the bolt heads.

His eMail is:  warcono4@gmail.com


  • js5020, twostep, TAHOE and 1 other said thanks

#24 CubHorse80 OFFLINE  

CubHorse80
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19713
  • 159 Thanks
  • 318 posts
  • Location: Cincinnati

Posted February 06, 2014 - 12:52 PM

This thing is great! im so glad i got it fixed!


  • GlenPettit said thank you

#25 TAHOE ONLINE  

TAHOE
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 24522
  • 6,491 Thanks
  • 4,947 posts
  • Location: "Hamiltucky" Ohio

Posted March 03, 2014 - 04:15 PM

Selling again????



#26 CubHorse80 OFFLINE  

CubHorse80
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19713
  • 159 Thanks
  • 318 posts
  • Location: Cincinnati

Posted March 03, 2014 - 11:04 PM

Yeah, it has a freshly rebuilt motor cause the Smokey one blew up... I have to get a new transfer case and I sadly need truck more than I need it. It also has a new seat and headlights. I haven't posted new pics yet

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk

#27 TAHOE ONLINE  

TAHOE
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 24522
  • 6,491 Thanks
  • 4,947 posts
  • Location: "Hamiltucky" Ohio

Posted March 04, 2014 - 09:48 AM

What happened to the TC? What year is your truck, Chevy/GM if I remember correctly?

Those are bad for pump wearing a hole in the case and the rear bearings come apart. Also if someone put wrong fluid in there, Kaboom, clutches go out. I had to replace the one in my Tahoe, when I separated the case, the balls from the rear bearing fell out. They have a plastic retainer holding the balls inthe race, stupid design!



#28 CubHorse80 OFFLINE  

CubHorse80
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 19713
  • 159 Thanks
  • 318 posts
  • Location: Cincinnati

Posted March 14, 2014 - 07:06 AM

Yeah, the pump is wearing the case pretty bad. not through yet but i want to stop it before it gets to that point. I also have a clunk coming from the rear end, there play in the pin that connects the yoke and the pinion gear. It clunks when i change gears and when it shifts form 2-3rd. I am alos thinking about ordering a monster transmission and torque convertor which is 2600 for everything (tranny, torque convertor, new hardware, fluid, new cooling kit, and flush). Its built with better and stronger parts and has a level 2 shift kit.

 

http://www.monstertr...ml#.UyLwd86Rj2A

 

Anyway, i am just wanting to get everything about perfect for school in the fall while i have the money.






Top