9 replies to this topic

#1 zolt OFFLINE  

zolt

• Member No: 1713
  • 10 Thanks
  • 90 posts

Posted December 19, 2010 - 02:57 AM

hello,
I'm new to gt talk and find it very informative reading. lots of people with lots of experience...
I just got a model 10, picking it up tomorrow and thought I'd start by asking a very basic question. Is the only real difference among the 10, 12. 14, and 16 the engine (horsepower)?
if I have to rebuild mine is it worth it?( I've been reading that the Tec. engines are a "throw away". it looks a lot like my 12 hp in my '74 sears tractor at the cottage.
any info or comments will be appreciated,
thanks,

#2 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

Accumulator

• Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts

Posted December 19, 2010 - 05:50 AM

zolt :welcometogttalk:glad to have you with us.

The 10 and 12 MF's are similar but the 14 and 16 quite different.They are physically bigger ,the engine sits differently ( crank is fore and aft instead of side to side ),they are shaft drive to the trans instead of belt drive.There are other differences ,that's just to name three.

The Tec engine isn't a bad engine,they have problems just like everything else.I have a Tec in one of my Bolens and have not had any trouble with it.

#3 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts

Posted December 19, 2010 - 09:43 AM

hello,
I'm new to gt talk and find it very informative reading. lots of people with lots of experience...
I just got a model 10, picking it up tomorrow and thought I'd start by asking a very basic question. Is the only real difference among the 10, 12. 14, and 16 the engine (horsepower)? if I have to rebuild mine is it worth it?( I've been reading that the Tec. engines are a "throw away". it looks a lot like my 12 hp in my '74 sears tractor at the cottage.
thanks,