Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

What do I do with the old ram card?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 daytime dave OFFLINE  

daytime dave

    Live long and prosper

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 531
  • 4,485 Thanks
  • 6,353 posts
  • Location: Upstate NY

Posted December 18, 2010 - 03:15 PM

My computer perks along fine now, thanks to those here. My question is what to do with the 256 mb ram card that is now obsolete to me. I just come from a time or place or both, where if it's not broken, don't throw it out. I gather it isn't very useful anymore. Should I toss it? I'd mail it to anyone who could use it, but I'm wondering if anyone could use it.

#2 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted December 19, 2010 - 08:34 PM

Dave
You should have multiple RAM slots and if you leave in the computer it will add 256MB to the one you have in there now. If it ain't broke use it.

#3 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,653 Thanks
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted December 19, 2010 - 09:22 PM

Dave
You should have multiple RAM slots and if you leave in the computer it will add 256MB to the one you have in there now. If it ain't broke use it.

Oh yes, if there's another slot open, put it back in!

#4 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,319 Thanks
  • 28,636 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 19, 2010 - 11:16 PM

My HP has to have matched :wallbanging: RAM. If it doesn't, it gets flaky. I'm not talking about speed... size too.

#5 daytime dave OFFLINE  

daytime dave

    Live long and prosper

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 531
  • 4,485 Thanks
  • 6,353 posts
  • Location: Upstate NY

Posted December 20, 2010 - 07:37 AM

I put two new 512 cards in the ram area. It gave me 1 gb total. I gave the 256 card to a science minded kid. Just didn't want it to go to waste. I appreciate the replies, you guys are great.

#6 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 20, 2010 - 12:24 PM

I put two new 512 cards in the ram area. It gave me 1 gb total. I gave the 256 card to a science minded kid. Just didn't want it to go to waste. I appreciate the replies, you guys are great.


That is about the best thing you can do, if I remember right your laptop had two slots available and you filled both of them. Newer computers do need matched pairs in order to function properly. This wasn't the case with older machines though.

#7 WQDL753 OFFLINE  

WQDL753

    Bolensholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1407
  • 59 Thanks
  • 301 posts
  • Location: Beaver, PA

Posted December 21, 2010 - 01:03 AM

That is about the best thing you can do, if I remember right your laptop had two slots available and you filled both of them. Newer computers do need matched pairs in order to function properly. This wasn't the case with older machines though.

:ditto: although I like to keep spares just incase. You need matched pairs per channel, and I'm guessing laptops only have one channel. But you can have differant size "pairs" per channel.




Top