Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Is anyone using a smaller resolution then 1024 x 768?


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 15, 2010 - 09:23 PM

I need as much input from the members as possible on this. I am thinking about making the site a fixed width which means it will be 980px wide at all times. If you use a resolution of 1024 x 768 this basically wouldn't affect you. The ones it would affect will be those using larger resolutions because the site won't be full screen width.

Main reason for doing it is because it makes it easier to organize articles and picture layouts. It also makes it easier to read text, because when the text lines are real long it makes it hard for the eyes to follow to the next line.

Currently the site does not go below a width of 1000px on account of fitting the navigation menu without blurring it. So if you are running a resolution of say 800 x 600 you will have horizontal scroll.

#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,315 Thanks
  • 28,632 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 15, 2010 - 09:32 PM

If anyone doesn't know what their screen resolution is, the short answer is: Look at the bottom of your screen. If you have a scroll bar with very little adjustment, (1/4" or so) you're probably running @ 1024x768. If you have 1-2 inches in your scroll bar, you're probably using 800x600.

Another way to check is to goto Start, Control Panel, Display, Settings. It will tell you what it's set to.

I'm running 1024x768.

#3 bhts OFFLINE  

bhts

    Bob's Lawn and Garden Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 945
  • 1,413 Thanks
  • 2,117 posts
  • Location: ohio

Posted December 15, 2010 - 09:36 PM

I'm running 1366x768

#4 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted December 15, 2010 - 09:38 PM

I just tried mine like you say and I'm running the same as you 1024x768, can that be changed or is it fixed? On mine it looks like it's adjustable.

#5 massey driver ONLINE  

massey driver

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 75
  • 1,076 Thanks
  • 1,445 posts
  • Location: Mainitoba Canada

Posted December 15, 2010 - 09:45 PM

Just checked mine and using 1024x768 Larry

#6 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,650 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted December 15, 2010 - 09:58 PM

I'm set at 1680 x 1050

#7 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,315 Thanks
  • 28,632 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 15, 2010 - 10:49 PM

can that be changed or is it fixed?


They're adjustable. The bigger the numbers, the smaller the print tho. I'm 40 now & I have to start considering things like this. :D

#8 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted December 16, 2010 - 06:20 AM

1280 x 960

#9 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 16, 2010 - 06:34 AM

If anyone doesn't know what their screen resolution is, the short answer is: Look at the bottom of your screen. If you have a scroll bar with very little adjustment, (1/4" or so) you're probably running @ 1024x768. If you have 1-2 inches in your scroll bar, you're probably using 800x600.

Another way to check is to goto Start, Control Panel, Display, Settings. It will tell you what it's set to.

I'm running 1024x768.


I have no idea what a scroll bar is.

#10 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 16, 2010 - 06:35 AM

I don't want you guys to have to make the resolution larger to keep it from having a scroll bar. That is why I started this thread to see what most are running at and possibly what I need to adjust so it doesn't have the side scroll. I figured it was close on the 1024 but wasn't completely sure.

#11 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 16, 2010 - 06:36 AM

I have no idea what a scroll bar is.


The scroll bar is the slider on the ride side of the screen to move the page up and down and depending on the fit of a page in the window for the width you will have a horizontal slider as well.

#12 tractormike OFFLINE  

tractormike

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 119
  • 162 Thanks
  • 1,488 posts
  • Location: western Wisconsin

Posted December 16, 2010 - 07:10 AM

Mine is set at 1366x768. No horizontal scroll bar.

#13 nra1ifer OFFLINE  

nra1ifer

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 383
  • 669 Thanks
  • 1,530 posts
  • Location: Bentonville, AR

Posted December 16, 2010 - 07:18 AM

1280 x 800 here, full screen, no border, no horiz scroll bar

#14 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted December 16, 2010 - 07:25 AM

OK,my scroll bar is about 1/4" wide,so does that mean I'm running 1024 x 768 ?

#15 nra1ifer OFFLINE  

nra1ifer

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 383
  • 669 Thanks
  • 1,530 posts
  • Location: Bentonville, AR

Posted December 16, 2010 - 07:33 AM

OK,my scroll bar is about 1/4" wide,so does that mean I'm running 1024 x 768 ?


If you are running Windows operating system, do this: "Another way to check is to goto Start, Control Panel, Display, Settings. It will tell you what it's set to."

Or, from your desktop (the screen you're at when you first boot up your PC), do a single right button mouse click on the background, select "Properties", then select the "Settings" tab. That will also get you where you need to be.
  • MH81 said thank you




Top