• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 CubHorse80 OFFLINE  

CubHorse80
  • Member No: 19713
  • 159 Thanks
  • 318 posts

Posted November 08, 2013 - 11:57 AM

How are the simplicities today? are they built well? or mtd junk....

• JRJ said thank you

#2 acguy96 OFFLINE  

acguy96

• Contributor
  • Member No: 5431
  • 26 Thanks
  • 44 posts

Posted November 08, 2013 - 05:58 PM

Overall, they're not too bad. My grandfather got one a few years ago. It has a 38 inch deck, and he has mowed a lot of grass with it. Keep in mind that his tractor is not a commercial duty model, but more of a base model, so I have no experience with the heavier duty ones. Probably the biggest problem he has had with it was when the axle snapped. He took it to a guy we know who works on mowers and the guy had an axle for it lying around. He had just finished working on a John Deere with the same rearend that needed an entire new one. He still had the old rear lying around, so my grandfather got his axle fixed reasonably cheap. The guy also said that some of the rears are not made to be rebuilt and, if I remember right, cost over $800 for a new one. Only certain rears have problems, though. Simplicity still uses the deep deck design.

Edited by acguy96, November 08, 2013 - 08:29 PM.

#3 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted November 09, 2013 - 07:47 AM

Their heavy duty GT's look really nice but are pricey. There aren't a lot of real heavy GT's left in production now and the Simplicities are a good alternative to the JD700 series. Those AWD AWS diesel JD tractors are a hard act to follow though! 

#4 CubHorse80 OFFLINE  

CubHorse80
  • Member No: 19713
  • 159 Thanks
  • 318 posts

Posted November 09, 2013 - 07:51 AM