Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Ebay Won't Load Up.


  • Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#61 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted November 09, 2013 - 01:51 AM

I downloaded and ran the list of links from Alan.

ccleaner found and fixed some stuff.

the other 3 spy and mal checks found nothing.

After that,things where interesting until I rebooted several times.

Now I'm using FFox, and going to trash Chrome. It keeps freezing.

 

Going to look into that Task Manager issue that Alan found, too.

 

Still having problems with Ebay.

It'll load (most times), but then if I try another search, it locks up.



#62 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,281 Thanks
  • 28,615 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted November 09, 2013 - 06:29 AM

I downloaded and ran the list of links from Alan.
ccleaner found and fixed some stuff.
the other 3 spy and mal checks found nothing.
After that,things where interesting until I rebooted several times.
Now I'm using FFox, and going to trash Chrome. It keeps freezing.

Going to look into that Task Manager issue that Alan found, too.

Still having problems with Ebay.
It'll load (most times), but then if I try another search, it locks up.

Hey, what is Wendy letting you look for? I'm sure the guys would search ebay for you and email them to her...
  • IamSherwood said thank you

#63 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted November 09, 2013 - 07:10 AM

:rolling: :rolling:

 

Looking for a 240 volt power source, and you know I can't

talk to Wendy about that.


  • MH81 said thank you

#64 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted November 09, 2013 - 07:50 AM

Robert Earl Keen-The road goes on forever and the party never ends.

 

 

Now I can't upload pictures.

 

I'd show you a screen shot of the error message, but.....

 

It says "Upload Skipped (Error IO)

 

 



#65 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,705 Thanks
  • 8,557 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted November 09, 2013 - 11:13 AM

Pat on the back Alan.  Nice find!  

 

Will, have you deleted the file that it talks about in the thread Alan posted.  I still think your best bet is to do a re-install and start from with a clean slate.


  • IamSherwood said thank you

#66 WNYTractorTinkerer ONLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,311 Thanks
  • 4,661 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted November 09, 2013 - 02:44 PM

Pat on the back Alan.  Nice find!  

 

Will, have you deleted the file that it talks about in the thread Alan posted.  I still think your best bet is to do a re-install and start from with a clean slate.

Sounds like your OS is definitely fubar..I'd drop ten and punt..  Save all of your data and favorites to a zip drive and reload as Bill suggests..


  • IamSherwood and HDWildBill have said thanks

#67 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted November 09, 2013 - 07:53 PM

Pat on the back Alan.  Nice find!  

 

Will, have you deleted the file that it talks about in the thread Alan posted.  I still think your best bet is to do a re-install and start from with a clean slate.

 

 

Sounds like your OS is definitely fubar..I'd drop ten and punt..  Save all of your data and favorites to a zip drive and reload as Bill suggests..

 

Yes, this thing is messed up. This morning IE and Chrome where near frozen up, and FF was working

like a champ. This evening, it's the other way around.

The task manager wasn't using up the resources, as in the example Alan found. At least, I couldn't find any

results like in the other guys tests.

I keep getting high CPU usage warnings from whatever program happens to by processing at the time.

Or high Disc usage warnings too.

 

I've never done a reload. Is it relatively painless? How many days will I be staring

at the screen.



#68 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,630 Thanks
  • 29,836 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted November 09, 2013 - 08:11 PM

Been a while since doing a complete restore from the bottom up, but I'd say less than 3 days will do it.  :smilewink:   If you don't have any hardware issues, I think an hour or so will do it all.  If you have saved all your bookmarks, passwords, etc, it'll be fairly painless.


  • IamSherwood said thank you

#69 WNYTractorTinkerer ONLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,311 Thanks
  • 4,661 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted November 09, 2013 - 08:14 PM

System Restore in Control panel may be able to help you a bit..  It won't mess with your data but will reset your OS to an earlier point in time..  (a time BEFORE your troubles started to appear would be good)  good luck..


  • IamSherwood said thank you

#70 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,281 Thanks
  • 28,615 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted November 09, 2013 - 08:24 PM

Do you have a restore disc?

#71 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,705 Thanks
  • 8,557 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted November 09, 2013 - 09:18 PM

First off like mentioned previously do a complete backup of your data, including your favorates folder, music, pictures etc. DO NOT save your temp folder or data. Save them to an external deivice.  If possible, even if you have to use your wifes computer down load Microsoft essentials and save it off as well.  You should not have to deal with any drivers if all your hardware is OEM.  If you have replaced any hardware make sure you have the disc that came with it handy.

 

Once you have that done you should have either a restore disc or there is a restore partition on your computer. As you boot your computer you should have either a message to hit a certain key to show a menu or a menu will appear.  On that menu there is an option to restore your computer to factory spec's. or something along those lines.  Choose that option and sit back and let it do it's thing.  Once it is done restoring your computer when it reboots you will have to reactivate windows.  Once you get back to the desktop install MS essentials first thing.  Do not go past go and collect $200 install MS essentials to protect your self.  Up to this point it should take you maybe an hour or two. Next run windows updates this may take a while depending on how many updates it has to DL and install.  Also knowing M$ you will have to reboot several times.  This could possibly take you the rest of the day.

 

Next thing on your list is have Essentials scan your external device for unwanted nasties.  If it comes back clean then put your data back where it belongs.  If not have Essentials  clean your data up even if it means deleting a file.  Next I highly recommend you either install FF or Chrome and use either / or for your web surfing.  Then last but not least install any other programs you may use like Office, Quicken etc. I would advise you not to install any free programs from any of the free downloads sites unless you are absolutely sure it does not contain any malware, spyware etc. 

 

 

All in all I can have a Windows machine up and running in about a day and an XP machine in 2 day. A Linux machine normally in about 30 min's to an Hour depending on how many updates there are.  Hope this helps.


  • MH81 and IamSherwood have said thanks

#72 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted November 09, 2013 - 11:37 PM

Thanks guys.

 

I have a set of 4 discs, labelled "Recovery Disc"

 

Speaking of Linux. I've never been a fan of M$. I used Netscape as long as I could.

And that email program, Eudora (? SP) too. I use my computer to surf, store pictures, a

bit of Email, and talk to you guys. I don't need bells and whistles.(that don't work)

 Should I be considering trashing MS all together, and going down a different road?



#73 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,281 Thanks
  • 28,615 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted November 10, 2013 - 05:36 AM

Oh boy... Now you did it. :rolling:

I had Linux MINT (at Bills suggestion) and it wirkedk great, my printer made me go back. Not supported in Linux. :(

They are going to suggest you do a Linux boot disc and try it. Sounds complicated, but follow their instructions and you will do just fine.
  • IamSherwood said thank you

#74 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted November 10, 2013 - 06:14 AM

I won't be doing anything for at least a week. I need it (even if I have to struggle)

this week, to print some maps.

 

Found this. I've been getting same Norton messages.

 

I'd rather not do any major changes. I'd rather spend the time touching

the tractors.


  • MH81 said thank you

#75 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,281 Thanks
  • 28,615 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted November 10, 2013 - 06:43 AM

The SFC scan reads like your problem too.

Huh, go figure... Two three problems with identical symptoms on a windows machine... Who'd a thunk it? :wallbanging:

i don't see where that would hurt anything, but I did see somewhere that it deletes all precious system restore points. (One of the articles online) If you're going to try just a system restore point, be sure to do that first.

Hopefully your found solution is the one that fixes it.
  • IamSherwood said thank you




Top