Jump to content

Vote for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Good News...bad News


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 BillTribbitt OFFLINE  

BillTribbitt
  • Member
  • Member No: 48427
  • 51 Thanks
  • 56 posts
  • Location: Russellville KY

Posted October 30, 2013 - 08:05 PM

    Finally got my 990 started.....was running good......broke the belt from the starter to the engine. What size is that and where do you find them? 

    While it was running it wouldn't move. I know next to nothing about hydro units, what should I be checking for??

 

    In other good news I found an old lawn mower junk yard. Lots of old tractors and motors. No 990's but some old Sears models and Wheelhorse models. Several Koler motors. Any body needing parts??


  • Texas Deere and Horse, Dieselcubmike and JRJ have said thanks

#2 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,665 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts
  • Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA

Posted October 30, 2013 - 08:45 PM

Belts are probably standard sizes.  The starter generators should be adjustable, too, so you can get something that "will work".  Take it to an auto parts store or a good lawn and garden store and they should match it.  If either one can't get you anything but has a belt stretcher to measure it on, measure it and tell me the size and I can check my suppliers and get you a belt.

 

Ben W.


  • JRJ said thank you

#3 BillTribbitt OFFLINE  

BillTribbitt
  • Member
  • Member No: 48427
  • 51 Thanks
  • 56 posts
  • Location: Russellville KY

Posted October 30, 2013 - 09:08 PM

       The belt got chewed up and broke in several pieces. I guess I can take a cloth measuring tape and get a close measurement. Thanks  


  • JRJ said thank you

#4 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,466 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted October 30, 2013 - 09:39 PM

 

    While it was running it wouldn't move. I know next to nothing about hydro units, what should I be checking for??

 

Bill, Have you checked the Hydro fluid level in the rear end?


  • JRJ said thank you

#5 BillTribbitt OFFLINE  

BillTribbitt
  • Member
  • Member No: 48427
  • 51 Thanks
  • 56 posts
  • Location: Russellville KY

Posted October 31, 2013 - 09:14 AM

fluid was just touching the dipstick


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#6 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,466 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted October 31, 2013 - 10:20 AM

You might need to go ahead and change the fluid and filter if topping it off doesn't help it.



#7 BillTribbitt OFFLINE  

BillTribbitt
  • Member
  • Member No: 48427
  • 51 Thanks
  • 56 posts
  • Location: Russellville KY

Posted October 31, 2013 - 10:40 AM

ya, I'm going to change it. Manual says use type F Trans fluid but some on her have said not to. What do you think?



#8 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,466 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted October 31, 2013 - 12:01 PM

I have type "F" in mine and not had any issues.



#9 cityboy2977 OFFLINE  

cityboy2977

    ordinary average guy

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 6650
  • 117 Thanks
  • 179 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, Michigan

Posted November 01, 2013 - 11:42 PM

type F here also.

dumb question but is it in gear ? three positions on the 990 low/neutral/high

cant think of a reason it wouldnt move other than it isnt in gear

belt shouldnt be hard to replace.

when measuring for a belt use a piece of clothes line to wrap around pullies. just mark with a sharpie and cut at the marks. measure it laid out flat and your good to go.

ive had best luck at NAPA for belts


Edited by cityboy2977, November 01, 2013 - 11:47 PM.

  • Canawler and sacsr have said thanks

#10 BillTribbitt OFFLINE  

BillTribbitt
  • Member
  • Member No: 48427
  • 51 Thanks
  • 56 posts
  • Location: Russellville KY

Posted November 02, 2013 - 09:53 AM

dumb question????    boy is my face red :(    It didn't even cross my mind....changing oil and hydro fluid today. Got to get a belt also. If that was the case I really feel stupid!!   They always say "check the simple things first"



#11 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 36,224 Thanks
  • 29,984 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted November 02, 2013 - 11:18 AM

dumb question????    boy is my face red :(    It didn't even cross my mind....changing oil and hydro fluid today. Got to get a belt also. If that was the case I really feel stupid!!   They always say "check the simple things first"

 

 

If it rolls easy, it's in neutral.  You certainly won't be the 1st to be red-faced if it is indeed in neutral though.



#12 glgrumpy ONLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,827 Thanks
  • 6,621 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted November 02, 2013 - 11:49 AM

Sometimes you need to roll it a little with hydro lever to get it to drop into gear on axle. Just a tiny amount.  SO, didn't really say if N was the problem or not???    On type F......can you still buy that?   That is old Ford trans fluid and thought has been replaced for years by other type. Just like Type A GM is now Dextron 3.  I've always thought that a good brand of that universal  trans fluid for modern tractors is a better way to go.  Myself think if it HAS fluid in it, it will work, no matter what kind is used.



#13 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 36,224 Thanks
  • 29,984 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted November 02, 2013 - 11:52 AM

Yes, Dexron III will work fine in them.



#14 BillTribbitt OFFLINE  

BillTribbitt
  • Member
  • Member No: 48427
  • 51 Thanks
  • 56 posts
  • Location: Russellville KY

Posted November 02, 2013 - 04:42 PM

            Fluid changed, belt on. Run pretty good!!!!!! Can't believe I didn't think to make sure it was in gear :(     How far up the dipstick should hydro fluid be?? It has that little flat area at the bottom but no other markings. Bought the 2gal jug of TSC universal fluid so not exactly sure how much is in there.

            Gonna take pics tomorrow of all sides so I'll have "before" pics. Then let the rebuild begin! Gonna replace all the hydro hoses also.



#15 VTXrider OFFLINE  

VTXrider
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 16031
  • 465 Thanks
  • 332 posts
  • Location: West Michigan

Posted November 02, 2013 - 08:01 PM

Did a couple of 990 restores so far and just picked up a parts donor yesterday.

 

The hydro hoses on even old 990s really don't need to be replaced unless they are leaking. I just cleaned them good and wire wheeled the end fittings. They look good as new. You will save yourself over $20 per hose. 

 

Keep us posted on your progress. 

Attached Thumbnails

  • Image00001.jpg
  • Image00002.jpg





Top