Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

1250 Winter Project


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#31 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted November 02, 2013 - 06:57 PM

Posted Image

I got it in the shop and pulled the motor so I can put a factory drive shaft in it. These are the pieces I've got but I don't know what goes where. I'm sure the piece on the engine doesn't belong at all. Any help on what goes where?

Posted Image

Posted Image

#32 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted November 02, 2013 - 07:11 PM

While I'm asking questions.... this oil pan won't fit right. Is there a spacer that goes between the pan and the block? I obviously haven't done my homework.

Posted Image

Posted Image


All holes line up the the cutouts on the bottom of the block would let it seal.

#33 LTD OFFLINE  

LTD

    Cub Cadet Collector

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5951
  • 1,028 Thanks
  • 1,455 posts
  • Location: Earlville N.Y.

Posted November 02, 2013 - 07:24 PM

That driveshaft piece in the first picture doesn't belong. You need this.http://www.ebay.com/...=item3a86caab02  Not the screen, just the coupler. Those 2 pieces in your hand are the correct pieces. The bottom piece bolts onto the coupler I just mentioned. The top piece goes in the back on the hydro pump shaft. That block is a flange style. Your oil pan is a regular type for the cubs. The oil pan wouldn't work. You need one of these pans. http://www.ebay.com/...=item1c38735b84


Edited by LTD, November 02, 2013 - 07:24 PM.


#34 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted November 02, 2013 - 07:28 PM

I have that oil pan. I just took it off. I'm trying to put this engine in the 1450 cub

#35 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted December 20, 2013 - 01:51 PM

The oil pan didn't fit due to the cut out block. When talking to the guy about a engine for the Massey I noticed a 108 in his barn. We talked about it and we decided on a trade for this 12hp. I'm loseing 2hp but am fine with that since ill.have a correct fitting engine. I assume the s/g will clear everything on the 1450.

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2


  • LTD said thank you

#36 LTD OFFLINE  

LTD

    Cub Cadet Collector

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5951
  • 1,028 Thanks
  • 1,455 posts
  • Location: Earlville N.Y.

Posted December 20, 2013 - 09:15 PM

assume the s/g will clear everything on the 1450.

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2

Only issue would be side panels; if you were planning to put them on.


  • BairleaFarm said thank you

#37 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted December 20, 2013 - 09:45 PM

Since they are on your tractor I don't think ill have to worry about clearance issues :-)

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2


  • LTD said thank you

#38 LTD OFFLINE  

LTD

    Cub Cadet Collector

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5951
  • 1,028 Thanks
  • 1,455 posts
  • Location: Earlville N.Y.

Posted December 20, 2013 - 10:42 PM

Since they are on your tractor I don't think ill have to worry about clearance issues :-)

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2

:rolling: I thought I might have them. :smilewink:



#39 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted December 27, 2013 - 03:18 PM

Of course the oil pans are differnt. The cradle lines up but will the engine line up with the drive shaft using this pan?

This is a s/g engine with no redulator or coil so I need to get a wiring harness. I'll be working on this now 1050 when the Massey gets up and running.

Attached Thumbnails

  • uploadfromtaptalk1388175428838.jpg


#40 IHCubGuy OFFLINE  

IHCubGuy

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3438
  • 1,358 Thanks
  • 1,475 posts
  • Location: Northumberland Pa

Posted December 27, 2013 - 07:43 PM

That pan will work teh same as the one in your post above.  The difference is that the 10HP pan does not have or need the deep sump.  Otherwise it should work the same.


  • BairleaFarm said thank you

#41 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted December 29, 2013 - 01:30 PM

Does the cradle go like this?

Attached Thumbnails

  • uploadfromtaptalk1388341813140.jpg


#42 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted December 29, 2013 - 02:40 PM

Does the cradle go like this?


Nope but its flipped around. Of course I don't have bolts long enough for the ISO mounts.


#43 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted December 30, 2013 - 07:24 PM

No spark. I've replaced the coil and points with new ones. I'm starting to get aggrivated. Points wire and condensor go to the negitive and 12v hot to the positive side of the coil.



#44 IHCubGuy OFFLINE  

IHCubGuy

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3438
  • 1,358 Thanks
  • 1,475 posts
  • Location: Northumberland Pa

Posted December 30, 2013 - 09:26 PM

No spark. I've replaced the coil and points with new ones. I'm starting to get aggrivated. Points wire and condensor go to the negitive and 12v hot to the positive side of the coil.

Coil and points are good so if it has juice to the coil its either the plug or wire or the condensor.  Also I would double check and make sure the points are gapped right as well.


  • BairleaFarm said thank you

#45 LTD OFFLINE  

LTD

    Cub Cadet Collector

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5951
  • 1,028 Thanks
  • 1,455 posts
  • Location: Earlville N.Y.

Posted January 02, 2014 - 10:03 AM

Check that the points aren't corroded. I've had brand new points that wouldn't spark because they were corroded. Might just be some dirt on them also.


  • BairleaFarm said thank you




Top