Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

'69 140 Front Hydraulics Question

jd 140

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 SupplySergeant ONLINE  

SupplySergeant

    Eggman's Dad

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 45293
  • 1,084 Thanks
  • 658 posts
  • Location: Harrodsburg, KY

Posted September 14, 2013 - 09:38 PM

I was parking the 140 earlier, and while cleaning the junk out of the front end, I noticed that there are capped off hydraulic line running up to the front bumper. Are these connected to the valve spool and just hanging there? If so, does this mean I can add the connectors and run a front blade? Is it guess operated at the same time as the deck lift? I seem to learn something new every time I run the old girl!

 

P.S.: I tried a search, but my search-fu seems to be weak tonight!


  • Texas Deere and Horse, A.C.T. and JRJ have said thanks

#2 A.C.T. OFFLINE  

A.C.T.

    Another Classic Tractor

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 11085
  • 2,363 Thanks
  • 2,496 posts
  • Location: Dalbo Minnesota

Posted September 14, 2013 - 09:46 PM

Do you have one or three controls?  Yes you can run off the front. But one control means you can only operate one implement at a time.


Edited by A.C.T., September 14, 2013 - 09:49 PM.

  • SupplySergeant said thank you

#3 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted September 14, 2013 - 09:49 PM

Depending on whether you have an H-1 or H-3, you will either have one or two sets of front remotes and they work with the hydro handles, one set with the mid lift and the other by itself.


  • A.C.T. and SupplySergeant have said thanks

#4 SupplySergeant ONLINE  

SupplySergeant

    Eggman's Dad

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 45293
  • 1,084 Thanks
  • 658 posts
  • Location: Harrodsburg, KY

Posted September 14, 2013 - 09:54 PM

Do you have one or three controls?  Yes you can run off the front. But one control means you can only operate one implement at a time.

 

It's an H1 with one control. One thing at a time is about all I can handle!

 

Depending on whether you have an H-1 or H-3, you will either have one or two sets of front remotes and they work with the hydro handles, one set with the mid lift and the other by itself. 

 

Cool, a front blade is the one of the two attachments I want most, after a nice-sized cart.

 

Thanks, guys!



#5 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted September 15, 2013 - 05:44 AM

You can lift a front blade but not angle it. In order to get good response you will need to mechanically lock out the rockshaft cylinder or install a valve that does it by stopping the oil flow. 


  • SupplySergeant said thank you

#6 SupplySergeant ONLINE  

SupplySergeant

    Eggman's Dad

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 45293
  • 1,084 Thanks
  • 658 posts
  • Location: Harrodsburg, KY

Posted September 15, 2013 - 11:21 AM

You can lift a front blade but not angle it. In order to get good response you will need to mechanically lock out the rockshaft cylinder or install a valve that does it by stopping the oil flow. 

 

I would put this valve on the pressure line to the rockshaft cylinder? Thanks!



#7 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 15, 2013 - 11:22 AM

I would put this valve on the pressure line to the rockshaft cylinder? Thanks!

 

Yes... I have used my 120 without it and it was not a problem other than a bit slow.


  • SupplySergeant said thank you

#8 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted September 15, 2013 - 07:48 PM

The lockout rod is really easy to make if it's like a 314/317. Easier than installing a hydraulic valve although it's not as convenient to use. 

 

 

Cylinder lockout rod.png

 

It is 3/8" rod and a clevis on one end that pins to where the lift rod would normally go. On the other end is a welded plate that goes into the slot in the rear frame. I am going to make one for my 317. 

 


  • SupplySergeant said thank you

#9 SupplySergeant ONLINE  

SupplySergeant

    Eggman's Dad

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 45293
  • 1,084 Thanks
  • 658 posts
  • Location: Harrodsburg, KY

Posted September 15, 2013 - 07:55 PM

I can see where that would work. I think that, since I have to add the connectors at the front anyway, I'll put a valve in. I'm thinking of using a drag-race line-lock valve, and mounting it on the side of the pedestal. Of course, all this is theoretical at the moment, ding funds!


  • twostep said thank you




Top