Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Shop heater


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted November 30, 2010 - 03:11 PM

I found this.... used modine heater

What do you guys think? I would need to adapt it to run propane. My garage is a 2.5 car and only one wall is currently insulated, but I would like to change that...

How big of a propane tank would I need?

#2 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted November 30, 2010 - 03:20 PM

That does look like a good deal.
I would think a 100 LBS portable would work OK.
A 100 gallon permanent tank would get you buy as well.
If you went the permanent tank route I would try to size it to get you by for a year.

#3 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,646 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted November 30, 2010 - 03:25 PM

Yes, a good deal...very nice new new looking condition. As ducky said, a 100lb'er would do you, but not sure how many burn hours that would get you. A propane dealer can tell you all that stuff.

#4 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted November 30, 2010 - 05:48 PM

What type of pipe would you need to run for the propane, copper? The seller just said he ordered the propane adapter. Should I just take it at full price, it seems just about perfect?

Edited by tweidman, November 30, 2010 - 06:03 PM.


#5 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,646 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted November 30, 2010 - 05:54 PM

That's a good price, but wouldn't hurt to try to whittle him a little. Just don't lowball too far. Yes, copper line....at least copper meets code here.

#6 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted November 30, 2010 - 06:14 PM

If it was me not knowing a lot about propane heaters like the one you show, I would bring in a qualified installer and have it done that way. I don't know if your garage is attached to your house, but remember propane is heavier than air and settles in the lowest points.
For piece of mind and safety I would pay the price and make sure it's done right. If you think you can do it yourself and know how to do it right then go that route.

I have made from scratch 6 wood burning furnaces, 1 is in my garage which is a detached building made of concrete and steel. The others are at my neighbors greenhouses, but when I put an air tight wood burning stove in the fireplace in my house I had a qualified company come in and do it, cost me $900. for the 1 piece stainless steel liner. I didn't want to take any chances in the house.

#7 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted November 30, 2010 - 06:28 PM

If I paid to have it installed, it would be the first thing in the house that I have ever paid to have done. I just installed a pellet stove last year. I don't really know about thse heaters but they seem as simple as can be, a gas burner and a fan? I guess my only fear would be a leak in the gas line? I could always turn the bottle/tank off at the tank while not in use....? I would only run it while I was working in the shop.
It will be in a attached garage.

#8 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted November 30, 2010 - 06:34 PM

All I'm saying is do what you can to make it safe, nobody wants a fire.

Edited by DH1, November 30, 2010 - 06:50 PM.
spelling


#9 Byron R OFFLINE  

Byron R

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 57
  • 57 Thanks
  • 120 posts

Posted November 30, 2010 - 06:47 PM

The Propane supplyer will pipe from the tank to your regulater...everything inside of the building should be..1/2 inch black pipe..or stainless flex pipe..I would never use copper on propane..

#10 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,646 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted November 30, 2010 - 06:55 PM

I would never use copper on propane..


That's odd, because my propane company put me in a new tank, plus wanted to replace the supply line. They buried copper to my regulator! It already had buried copper by the way. Not saying it's right, because I don't know all the codes for such things. BUT, when we built our new milking parlor ourselves, WE used the poly/plastic orange gas line all the way into the parlor.

#11 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted November 30, 2010 - 07:18 PM

The seller just agreed to $275 including the new adapter he just ordered to run it on propane. I am supposed to pick it up Sunday.
I guess I will have to study up on the correct line to use. It won't be a very long run. I was planning on putting the tank just below the heater on the outside of the garage.

#12 Byron R OFFLINE  

Byron R

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 57
  • 57 Thanks
  • 120 posts

Posted November 30, 2010 - 07:39 PM

everything inside of the building should be.. This is for insurance purposes...been instaling furnaces for a few years..Never soft copper inside...Always black pipe to regulater...Not home owners insurance but installers ins..

#13 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted November 30, 2010 - 07:57 PM

everything inside of the building should be.. This is for insurance purposes...been instaling furnaces for a few years..Never soft copper inside...Always black pipe to regulater...Not home owners insurance but installers ins..


Good to know, thanks for the info. Any idea what size with a 60k btu propane heater?

#14 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,646 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted November 30, 2010 - 08:01 PM

Oh man Todd.....you're gonna be happier than a pig in a poke when you get that furnace going! GUARANTEED!!!!!!!!!!!

#15 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted November 30, 2010 - 08:14 PM

Oh man Todd.....you're gonna be happier than a pig in a poke when you get that furnace going! GUARANTEED!!!!!!!!!!!


I'm not even sure what a pig in a poke means....? lol
I sure hope I will be warm. Maybe I will actually get something done this winter? I just saw a 100lbs propane tank listed for $80 full. I can't wait to get it hooked up annd running. The guy said it hangs from 3/8 all thread.




Top