• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,440 Thanks
  • 39,677 posts

Posted September 04, 2013 - 06:26 PM

I was reading a thread and toomanytoys84 made a post that struck close to home for me. I grew up in a small town (pop. 50+/-). Came time to go to high school. Freshman year was cool at Whitewater, Ks. Next year, they consolidated two schools into one, Whitewater/Potwin (Remington High school). That was cool, as these were two rival schools. Everyone was pretty happy as we had a brand new school to go to. That was the year RFK was killed in Dallas. My Dad got hurt at work and screwed around, so the junior year we had to move to Muskogee, OK. I don't even remember that year, just a blur. No friends there to speak of. Following year, Senior, moved to Miami, OK. Same thing, only a blur. But I do remember I graduated with the GREAT Steve Owens! Sorry SOB! Made my day when his football career went SOUTH!

Anyway here's the thread that started all this:

http://gardentractor...new-hat/page-79

Post1171.

I went to one HS reunion, think it was the 25th for Remington. Never have heard a word from Miami High School. But I doubt I would go!

Top this all off with 19 months active duty in 'Nam, and i have a good case of PTSD going. But I do okay most of the time. Just cherish to ones I call friends and that is you folks here!

• NUTNDUN, Gtractor, MH81 and 21 others have said thanks

#2 OkieGt OFFLINE  

OkieGt
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 36782
  • 1,427 Thanks
  • 1,447 posts

Posted September 04, 2013 - 06:34 PM

Kenny, thanks for your service, you and your generation gave more than we will ever know. My boot camp and time in service was surrounded by guys like you, you make things better wherever you are, you may not realize it but we look to you guys like our rock

• Alc, KennyP, tinbender7 and 3 others have said thanks

#3 hamman ONLINE  

hamman

Homelite Owner Extraordinaire

• Contributor
  • Member No: 1733