• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 KBCraig OFFLINE  

KBCraig
  • Member No: 46350
  • 55 Thanks
  • 40 posts

Posted September 04, 2013 - 03:03 PM

Hi, total newbie here. I searched the forum, but I couldn't find any production figures, and I'm wondering just how many Ride-A-Matics are out there.

I just bought a '61 234-01 that has already been restored, and it comes with an extra frame. Meanwhile, I found another for sale that is either a '61 or '62 (the original grill and hood have been replaced with a homemade unit, so I can't tell from the pictures). It is missing the right belt cover, but the left is there, and it looks to be otherwise complete, but rough.

Before I turn into a tractor junkie, just how uncommon are these little tractors? I'm trying to decide whether to just let this second one go, or rescue it.

• boyscout862 and Dieselcubmike have said thanks

#2 Dieselcubmike OFFLINE  

Dieselcubmike
  • Member No: 11127
  • 1,327 Thanks
  • 1,511 posts

Posted September 04, 2013 - 03:51 PM

Hello there and welcome :wave: Show us pictures of it the whole community loves pictures :thumbs: Unfortunately I know nothing about these seeing a cub man. Hopefully one of the higher up will be along shortly.

#3 wilberj OFFLINE  

wilberj
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 51
  • 4,213 Thanks
  • 5,218 posts

Posted September 04, 2013 - 03:58 PM

No one realy knows how many were made every year. Only way to do that is to ask every one that has one for its serial number.

61 is a very diffrent tractor to the 1962. 1962 is a harder to find RAM but there kinda ugly. :D The hardes to find I think were the very first 50 made.

#4 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,804 Thanks
  • 7,545 posts

Posted September 04, 2013 - 04:37 PM

Welcome to GTT. Relax and enjoy the site. As far as the tractors are concerned, go with what makes you happy. Good Luck, Rick 

#5 KBCraig OFFLINE  

KBCraig
  • 55 Thanks
  • 40 posts