• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 superaben OFFLINE  

• Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts

Posted September 01, 2013 - 09:10 PM

I've got a David Bradley here that came along on a deal recently.  It is not exactly my first by any means, but I am not an expert and I know there are a couple here for ol' David.

This machine is a 917-57561.  Series 262.  Thanks to Amigatec's informative website, I learned it is a Super Power. 

The pictures are usually terrible.  I don't know what I was drinking that did it, but...

IMG_5281.jpg IMG_5280.jpg

The good news is that it is implement heavy.  The cultivator is on it, while it has a sickle bar mower, plow, and a lawn roller. 

The bad news is that it is supposed to have a Continental AU8 engine.  I am lacking that.  I have a Tecumseh H50 on the ship, 143-695032. 

The second bad news is that it is lacking the hood, so it is missing all its pride! 

My first question is whether anyone knows if that engine is a Sears replacement for the original Continental.  If so, I would be fine to leave it, unless someone has a good Continental lying around to sell.  They aren't cheap to find, from what I hear.

Once I know whether the engine is Sear's drop in replacement, it would help me decide what belt I need. 

The second question is that I need a hood!  Does anyone near me have a good hood they would like to part with to make David complete? 

Thanks for anyone's help. 

Ben W.

• boyscout862 and IlovemyCub have said thanks

• Member No: 10269
  • 369 Thanks
  • 338 posts

Posted September 02, 2013 - 05:36 AM

I think the only Sears replacements were either Briggs or Continental.

• superaben said thank you

#3 cglisson01 OFFLINE  

• Member No: 48091
  • 261 Thanks
  • 151 posts

Posted October 18, 2013 - 02:06 PM

I was looking on ebay the other day and saw a couple nice looking hoods on there. So you might want to give ebay a try

#4 Lauber1 OFFLINE  

DB restorer