Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

The New Shop


  • Please log in to reply
577 replies to this topic

#346 UncleWillie ONLINE  

UncleWillie

    wabbit wangler

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10399
  • 12,767 Thanks
  • 7,703 posts
  • Location: Gaston county, NC

Posted January 18, 2014 - 05:47 PM

I have a Buffalo router with massive range. It took a little fiddling with the antennas to get it to the shop but it works great.


  • oldedeeres said thank you

#347 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted January 18, 2014 - 08:20 PM

I am looking at extenders and repeaters, I will need the ability to plug in a nic card.



#348 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,712 Thanks
  • 8,564 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted January 19, 2014 - 10:15 AM

You can make a desktop WIFI with a USB adapter.  But it is nice to have the cable ability.



#349 toomanytoys84 OFFLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,243 Thanks
  • 5,082 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 19, 2014 - 10:31 AM

I was using my wife's laptop as a repeater. It worked great.
  • larrybl said thank you

#350 UncleWillie ONLINE  

UncleWillie

    wabbit wangler

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10399
  • 12,767 Thanks
  • 7,703 posts
  • Location: Gaston county, NC

Posted January 19, 2014 - 11:32 AM

My router is a good 100 feet away from they shop computer. How far are you away?



#351 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted January 19, 2014 - 12:23 PM

I'm exactly 150' away from where the router is located (wife's back room). Lots of tin between the router and me. There is a window facing the silver tin shop so I am probably getting a reflection from it. With the shop roll up open I get 5 bars on the laptop, but it drops to three with the door shut. The actual shop PC which in still in the old shed is hard wired to the router. I don't want to dig a 150' trench to hard wire the new shop.

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • P1090643.JPG

  • oldedeeres said thank you

#352 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted January 19, 2014 - 12:26 PM

I was using my wife's laptop as a repeater. It worked great.

 

How does that work? And could I use my laptop NIC to connect to my desktop PC?



#353 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,712 Thanks
  • 8,564 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted January 19, 2014 - 01:24 PM

I was using my wife's laptop as a repeater. It worked great.

 

I would also like to know how you did that?



#354 toomanytoys84 OFFLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,243 Thanks
  • 5,082 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 19, 2014 - 02:13 PM

I'm taking off in a bit to drive to wv. I will post the software and links this evening
  • KennyP, HDWildBill and oldedeeres have said thanks

#355 toomanytoys84 OFFLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,243 Thanks
  • 5,082 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 19, 2014 - 05:01 PM

http://m.wikihow.com...-on-Your-Laptop

Check out that page. That's the instructions I followed
  • KennyP, HDWildBill, oldedeeres and 1 other said thanks

#356 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,712 Thanks
  • 8,564 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted January 19, 2014 - 05:19 PM

Learn something new all the time.  Thanks.


  • oldedeeres and toomanytoys84 have said thanks

#357 toomanytoys84 OFFLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,243 Thanks
  • 5,082 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 19, 2014 - 05:28 PM

Basically of you are getting just enough signal in your shop if you put an extra laptop in the corner of the house by the shop and it should give you enough signal. Works great if you have an extra laptop and it's free to do.
  • HDWildBill and oldedeeres have said thanks

#358 Sawdust OFFLINE  

Sawdust
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 36549
  • 4,523 Thanks
  • 2,831 posts
  • Location: Butler, Kentucky

Posted January 19, 2014 - 06:19 PM

Sometimes we use our smart phones to create a hot spot when the power goes off. We get a full five bars too.....amazing sometimes.
  • oldedeeres said thank you

#359 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,955 Thanks
  • 3,328 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted January 19, 2014 - 06:47 PM

I actually need a cat-5 connection as my desk top shop pc doesn't have wireless



#360 toomanytoys84 OFFLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,243 Thanks
  • 5,082 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 19, 2014 - 09:23 PM

25 bucks will buy you a wireless adapter for your desktop. I put one in my moms computer 5 years ago because she wanted to move her desk to the side of the room and there was no cable there. Worked great
  • oldedeeres said thank you




Top