#1 toomanytoys84 ONLINE  

toomanytoys84

Aaron

• Member No: 45129
  • 8,240 Thanks
  • 5,077 posts

Posted August 21, 2013 - 08:12 AM

New here!  Hi everyone!

My father and I have been restoring tractors for several years now.  We also restore vintage minibikes.  We have completed several cub cadet restores.  And one rebuild for use for my father.  I did live in town about 20 miles away from my parents, but recently divorced and bought a house with a 4 acre lot 5 houses down from them.  I didn’t have a tractor but borrowed the trusty 128 to cut my lawn every week.  I always wanted my own tractor and couldn’t talk dad into letting me take one of our restored cubs to use on my lawn.

I picked up a Ariens GT17 at an auction for 100 dollars.  People had came from all over to bid on this tractor.  It was listed in the auction flyer as “Running machine, cuts grass, everything works”  I didn’t go to bid on the tractor but I was there buying up tools, and other oddities.  We all got there for the pre-auction walk through and the tractor didn’t run.  I knew the guy who owned the items being auctioned.  He had passed away about 6 months ago, and I knew he didn’t use his Ariens anymore but cut with a craftsman tractor.  Well, they tinkered with it unsuccessfully for about 2 hours before the auction started before giving up.

Bidding started on the tractor.  Auctioneer had high hopes of a big sale on this beautiful orange hulk of a tractor.  “Fifteen hundred!” He yelled out enthusiastically.  I swear crickets could be heard as everyone looked at each other.  Slowly but surely the starting bid dropped and dropped.  Finally he looked out at the crowd sadly and said “Someone give me 10 dollars for it!”  I raised my hand and the bidding war began.  I looked at my father and said I’ll go to 100 and I’m out.  My final bid, 95 to 100 and silence fell across the crowd.  Going once, going twice, fair warning, SOLD!  I quickly went and paid my ticket.