Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

Can I Remove A Hydro Rearend And Replace With A Transaxle?

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Swinny OFFLINE  

Swinny
  • Member No: 44946
  • 6 Thanks
  • 9 posts

Posted August 18, 2013 - 03:22 PM

I am new to this sport and my question is. Can you remove the hydrostatic rearend out of a 1330 cub cadet and replace it with a transaxle? And would you need to change to a horizontal shaft motor also? I'm looking to buy a tractor to build a puller.
  • JRJ said thank you

#2 IHCubGuy OFFLINE  

IHCubGuy

Tractorholic

• Member No: 3438
  • 1,358 Thanks
  • 1,475 posts

Posted August 18, 2013 - 04:10 PM

If you want to start with a cub cadet I would just start out with an older model anywhere from a model 100 to a 1200.  Start with one of those in gear drive and you will have a near bullet proof basis to start and then move up from there if you want to progress into something more exotic.  An earlier model gear drive will be as cheap to purchase and you will be more or less ready to go with very few modifications as what you will have into changing over a later model hydro.

• KennyP and OkieGt have said thanks

#3 OkieGt OFFLINE  

OkieGt
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 36782
  • 1,427 Thanks
  • 1,447 posts

Posted August 18, 2013 - 06:18 PM

I know you want to run what ya got, but your trying to reinvent the wheel. Lots of people used to swap their automatics for four speeds in their cars, this isn't the same at all. Your opening a can of worms, bad worms. It's sad, but good solid Cubs can be had for 300.00 or less, and that's for fair looking running tractors, you would have that in a conversion before you found out you bit off more than you can chew. Good Luck

Edited by OkieGt, August 18, 2013 - 06:38 PM.

• IamSherwood said thank you

#4 ckjakline OFFLINE  

ckjakline

Tractorholic

• Member No: 6073
  • 1,080 Thanks
  • 1,093 posts