• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Sprint 6 OFFLINE  

Sprint 6
  • Member No: 30633
  • 162 Thanks
  • 216 posts

Posted August 04, 2013 - 06:26 PM

I am kicking around the idea of converting my closed side 165 to fully hydraulic steering when I go through the front end.  I love the tractor, it mows awesome, and I just rebuilt the K341.  The only thing I fault is it steers like a truck.  I know the wear in the front is some of the cause, but I don't think it will be much better effort wise when tight.  Does the knowledge base here think the hydro has enough pressure and capacity to run steering?  I am thinking full hydraulic steering, orbital valve, cylinder, and hoses with no mechanical steering connection, like modern compacts are run.  Looking for any and all input, I have no experience putting together a hydraulic steering system, but the concept seems doable.  Seems like I could just tap off the hydraulic connection that would have been used for remotes.  My main concern is reserve capacity of the current hydro.  Thanks.

• farmer john said thank you

#2 Rock farmer OFFLINE  

Rock farmer
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10759
  • 1,119 Thanks
  • 1,177 posts

Posted August 04, 2013 - 07:08 PM

I have three of these tractors. One with hydro steering. If your not happy with your 165 steering, it's probably because the grease in the steering box has turned to tar. I would dis-assemble the whole steering system clean and lube it before I would start anew!

But, my Jacobsen 53500 does have hydraulic power steering, run off the hydro.

Joe

#3 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,589 Thanks
  • 29,831 posts

Posted August 04, 2013 - 07:21 PM

I've added power steering to 2....or is it 3 GT's with power coming from the hydro charge/lift pump on the hydro.  PLENTY of pressure.

#4 skyrydr2 OFFLINE  

skyrydr2

Tractorholic