Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Snow Blade Question


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 larryd OFFLINE  

larryd
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 15865
  • 724 Thanks
  • 1,058 posts
  • Location: bella vista ar

Posted July 24, 2013 - 01:06 PM

Does the mule drive have to be removed to install the snow blade mount on a JD314 ?

larryd
  • JRJ said thank you

#2 JD DANNELS OFFLINE  

JD DANNELS

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2011
  • 3,786 Thanks
  • 3,907 posts
  • Location: Newton.Ia

Posted July 24, 2013 - 03:17 PM

Pretty sure it does Larry. I know my Blower uses the same mounting points as the Mule Drive for the mower on the 318.


  • larryd and JRJ have said thanks

#3 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted July 24, 2013 - 04:23 PM

Blower = yes (possibly no but would not bet on it)

Blade = no

 

The drive assembly for the blower occupies the same space as the mule drive under the tractor.  The blade does not require that space.  


  • larryd and JRJ have said thanks

#4 hdg4400 ONLINE  

hdg4400

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6945
  • 254 Thanks
  • 326 posts
  • Location: Rochester, MN

Posted July 24, 2013 - 04:42 PM

Is this the 54 blade? If so, the Operator's manual doesn't say anything about the mule drive and Trav1s is right, as usual.

 

Harlan


  • larryd and JRJ have said thanks

#5 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted July 24, 2013 - 05:35 PM

I think you would have to remove the deck.  The drive should be able to stay.


  • larryd and JRJ have said thanks

#6 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted July 24, 2013 - 06:00 PM

On the 120/140/300 series the deck mounts are independent from the front blade mount.  The only reason I could see a need to remove the mule on the 120/140/300 is to clear the tensioner on the blower.  I will check and get back.  Might have to mount the blower on the 314 just to check it out.  :D

 

  On the flat fender 110/112 & 200 series the lower points of the front mount are used to attach the draft plate for the deck.  I am pretty sure the deck needs removed on the 200 to mount the blade or blower.


Edited by Trav1s, July 24, 2013 - 06:01 PM.

  • larryd and JRJ have said thanks

#7 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted July 25, 2013 - 09:38 AM

Just snapped these pics for reference. The first two are of the front of the 314 with the mule drive and deck in place. The next two are of the blower. The drive unit on the blower will hit the mule drive but everything will attach without interference. I know a blade will mount and work while the mule and deck are installed as I looked at a 314 for sale that had both mounted at the same time.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg

Edited by Trav1s, July 25, 2013 - 09:44 AM.

  • larryd and JRJ have said thanks

#8 larryd OFFLINE  

larryd
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 15865
  • 724 Thanks
  • 1,058 posts
  • Location: bella vista ar

Posted July 25, 2013 - 10:41 AM

photo 1.JPG photo 2.JPG Thanks guys . I tried to install yesterday but I can't seem to get the top spring loaded pins to engage the holes

larryd
  • JRJ said thank you

#9 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted July 25, 2013 - 11:21 AM

Will they move without the blade mounted?  Pull out on the pin then twist.  Same pin used to attach the deck.


  • larryd and JRJ have said thanks

#10 larryd OFFLINE  

larryd
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 15865
  • 724 Thanks
  • 1,058 posts
  • Location: bella vista ar

Posted July 25, 2013 - 11:45 AM

Yes they work just fine

larryd
  • JRJ said thank you

#11 Gary400 OFFLINE  

Gary400

    JD,junkie

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2316
  • 225 Thanks
  • 768 posts
  • Location: North East Missouri

Posted July 26, 2013 - 07:10 PM

I think you would have to remove the deck.  The drive should be able to stay.

if you remove the deck the mule will have to come off the belt is what holds the mule in place . 


Edited by Gary400, July 26, 2013 - 07:51 PM.

  • JDBrian, larryd and JRJ have said thanks

#12 larryd OFFLINE  

larryd
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 15865
  • 724 Thanks
  • 1,058 posts
  • Location: bella vista ar

Posted July 27, 2013 - 12:05 AM

I didn't want to remove deck or mule drive. Blade is totally hyd
I have seen some GT's with them in place.
Mainly I just wanted to mount it to see how everything works for now.

larryd
  • JRJ said thank you




Top