9 replies to this topic

#1 juice OFFLINE  

juice
  • Member No: 41110
  • 8 Thanks
  • 5 posts

Posted July 22, 2013 - 12:54 PM

Hello, all!

I have a part that I've been missing for about a year and trying to locate for my 1995 Sears Craftsman (917252710) tractor. It has a 42" deck w/ Kohler Magnum 18HP Twin engine.

The part I'm attempting to locate is an L-shaped metal plate that bolts to the front of the chassis and bends under the muffler, which exhausts downward. I took this part off to service the muffler, but while the mower was apart, this shield got misplaced (more than likely trashed by an associate) and now I am unable to find the part to order it.

I've tried calling Sears Parts Direct and they have a heat shield that mounts underneath the muffler, but my tractor has that shield installed. The part I'm looking for swings under that heat shield and rerouts the exhast fumes so that they don't flowdirectly downward. As it stands without that part, if I were to park my tractor on the grass with it running, anything longer than a minute will yield a big, fat patch of dead grass in a couple days. Also, if there is any hay lying on top of what I'm cutting, then the exhaust will pick up the hay and blow it on top of the deck. So, basically, when I get done cutting, the deck on the mower is literally covered with dry grass, which is a fire hazard. The grass gets so packed that a leaf blower does nothing. I have to lower the deck and reach in to pull out the dry clumps.

Basically, when you stand in front of the mower and look at it, the exhaust is exposed, whereas it should be hidden behind the shield that mounts to the front of the chassis.

I'm sure that the reason I can't find the part is because it was sold as part of the chassis itself, which is now a discontinued item at Sears.