Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Hourmeter, How They Hook Up?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 gtcsreg OFFLINE  

gtcsreg
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 25875
  • 1,665 Thanks
  • 1,647 posts
  • Location: Winchester, IL

Posted July 13, 2013 - 08:49 PM

Ok guys it just suddenly hit me.  I have an empty dial space on the console of my Snapper 1650 and in my toolshed I have an hour-meter.  I've had this hour-meter for so long I forgot where I got it, probably in a box I picked up at an auction or else my Dad gave it to me.  Anyway this is "New" and is still in it's original cardboard holder.  The two wires are marked positive and negative and has cloth covered wires.  It's a dial type with a big dial and a tiny one.  It's too late to go out in the dark and take pictures. 

 

Here's the question.  How do these wire into your tractor?  The tractor is over thirty years old but I should finish the cosmetic restoration this week or next so I guess I could be tracking that.  Not sure I want to do this or not because it is pretty cool to have it still in the box and have it be from a maker only fifty miles away (Springfield IL).  I can get pictures next week if that would help with answering my question. 

 

Thanks

Reg



#2 Amigatec OFFLINE  

Amigatec

    Collector of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5899
  • 2,023 Thanks
  • 3,172 posts
  • Location: Haskell Oklahoma

Posted July 14, 2013 - 04:35 AM

When I installed mine in my Cub, I ran the + to the key, and the - to ground. But the Cub has battery ignition.
  • gtcsreg said thank you

#3 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts
  • Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA

Posted July 14, 2013 - 06:39 AM

Reg all you would need to do is is ground the negative side to the frame, and splice the positive side into a wire that is hot only when the key is on. 

 

Technically, you could wire it directly into the charge circuit, but if in the rare chance something failed you would fry the hour meter. 

 

Ben W.


  • gtcsreg said thank you

#4 gtcsreg OFFLINE  

gtcsreg
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 25875
  • 1,665 Thanks
  • 1,647 posts
  • Location: Winchester, IL

Posted July 15, 2013 - 04:27 PM

Ok, it was manufactured by John W. Hobbs Corp. Springfield, Illinois.  It has a 10 hrs. ring, a 100 hrs. ring, and a 1000 hrs. ring.  In the center it says Engine Hours volts 12 D.C.  Any idea how old this is?  Have you guys seen any like this without a roller or digital?  What were they common on?  Is this valuable?  Thanks for any input I can get.  More pictures to come.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Hourmeter and kinda done 007.jpg

Edited by gtcsreg, July 15, 2013 - 04:28 PM.


#5 gtcsreg OFFLINE  

gtcsreg
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 25875
  • 1,665 Thanks
  • 1,647 posts
  • Location: Winchester, IL

Posted July 15, 2013 - 04:31 PM

More pictures.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Hourmeter and kinda done 008.jpg
  • Hourmeter and kinda done 009.jpg
  • Hourmeter and kinda done 012.jpg


#6 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,649 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted July 15, 2013 - 04:38 PM

Never seen one just like it, but same basic principle the IH GT's hour meter.


  • gtcsreg said thank you

#7 gtcsreg OFFLINE  

gtcsreg
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 25875
  • 1,665 Thanks
  • 1,647 posts
  • Location: Winchester, IL

Posted July 16, 2013 - 08:56 PM

Just saw one like it except it was specific John Deere with a pressure switch and manual.  They are asking $229.97.  JDs stuff always sell high and it's got stuff with it but this may require more thought. 



#8 twostep OFFLINE  

twostep

    Rockstar

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10198
  • 1,850 Thanks
  • 2,476 posts
  • Location: Berea, KY

Posted August 06, 2013 - 11:02 AM

Just ground it and then run the + wire to the switch Amigatec said.

 

This is what OCH was referring to:

 

106382-C91%20hour%20meter.jpg


  • gtcsreg said thank you

#9 gtcsreg OFFLINE  

gtcsreg
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 25875
  • 1,665 Thanks
  • 1,647 posts
  • Location: Winchester, IL

Posted August 06, 2013 - 09:21 PM

Still thinking.



#10 nbent OFFLINE  

nbent

    customizer

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8320
  • 628 Thanks
  • 520 posts
  • Location: amalga, UT

Posted August 15, 2013 - 12:07 AM

my old farmall h has an hour meter just like that on it, but mine isnt hooked up at the moment


  • gtcsreg said thank you




Top