Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Panzer T70E (Electric) Build Log


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#16 BowDown ONLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 177 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted July 16, 2013 - 06:26 AM

I do not understand how running a controller that's over the motors rating will hurt anything? The controller can not force the motor to take more amperage that it will pull. Only voltage can effect this. If somehow the controller is able to take 24v and step it up to 48v then I could see the possibility of over powering the motor.



#17 BowDown ONLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 177 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted July 16, 2013 - 09:32 AM

On-board battery charger/maintainer purchased on eBay. $70 + shipping isn't too bad. I will have to break the batteries into 12v sections when off for charging. But this works out better as I can either charge (2) banks of (2) 6v batteries, or each 12v battery separately. Works for diagnostics too.

 

$T2eC16h,!%29cE9s4PvnYyBR%28%291,GpWg~~6


Edited by BowDown, July 16, 2013 - 09:33 AM.


#18 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,585 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted July 16, 2013 - 05:44 PM

I do not understand how running a controller that's over the motors rating will hurt anything? The controller can not force the motor to take more amperage that it will pull. Only voltage can effect this. If somehow the controller is able to take 24v and step it up to 48v then I could see the possibility of over powering the motor.

 

It's the load you put on the motor that dictates how many amps are drawn.

 

Ex, on my electric tractor with a 200 amp controller.

- in 1st gear I have never seen the amp meter go over 75 amps

- in 4th gear it is easy to go over 75amps, I've gone over 175amps many times, that is overloading my motor.

 

If I had a 300 amp controller I bet I would see more than 200.

The motor I have has a 275amp max momentary rating, less than 1 minute.

If you gear the tractor too high it will draw more amps, more heat.

 

The motor your using has a 4hp rating that's double what mine is so I think you will be fine in your conversion, your motor can handle 2x the watts or heat that mine can, I wish mine had that rating.



#19 BowDown ONLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 177 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted July 18, 2013 - 02:46 PM

Where did you get your AMP meter?

 

I was looking at a couple on eBay along with the shunts, and a voltmeter. Looks like it's a quick way to spend $60 but would be a good tool for checking the health of my setup.



#20 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,585 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted July 18, 2013 - 08:46 PM

I got mine here > http://www.evparts.c...icle/in2512.htm

 

These guys also have meters

1 > http://evolveelectri...m/Ammeters.html

2 > http://www.cloudelectric.com/

 

If you buy a digital you can get both amps and volts in 1 but you have to manually switch scales.

I like the analog meter because I find it easier to read when the tractor is moving, just a quick glance.

 

Correction = when I said I've seen more than 175amps it should of being 150amps, meter goes past 150 for a short time.

My meters

002 (2).JPG

 

When you push the tractor so that the my amp meter is at 150amps and hold it there, after a minute or 2 you can see the amps start to drop and feel the tractor slow down, this is the controller doing it's job of cutting back it's output from maximum to continuous ratings.

If my motor had a 4hp rating like yours it would not heat up so fast or as much.

 

BTW I like your battery charger, just plug it in and forget about it, fully automatic, I like things that are foo proof.

 



#21 cookiemonster OFFLINE  

cookiemonster

    Village Idiot

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 6338
  • 406 Thanks
  • 1,274 posts
  • Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posted July 18, 2013 - 09:24 PM

Wow, this is heavy stuff.


  • BowDown said thank you

#22 BowDown ONLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 177 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted July 18, 2013 - 09:28 PM

Wow, this is heavy stuff.


referring to the batteries? Lol.



Posted from my Samsung Galaxy S III 32gb via tapatalk 2.



#23 BowDown ONLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 177 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted July 22, 2013 - 06:58 AM

Charger has arrived. Still waiting for confirmation of motors shipping. Guess they guy had to go freight because of the weight! (of 2 on one pallet).



#24 cookiemonster OFFLINE  

cookiemonster

    Village Idiot

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 6338
  • 406 Thanks
  • 1,274 posts
  • Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posted July 22, 2013 - 08:44 PM

Yes, heavy and heady.  Big change from 20somethin horsepower v-twin. But at least by watching that it allowed me to look and see the problems posed by trying to put any twin cylinder arrangement in a panzer.  So I'm glad I didn't try it.  Can't say the thought didn't cross my mind way back then.

 

If I did another one, it would be a single cylinder diesel. Probly a 10hp yanmar.



#25 BowDown ONLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 177 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted July 22, 2013 - 08:56 PM

Ya the single cylinder diesel was high on my list for awhile... But something about Chinese diesels doesn't rub me right.

All and all... Between the (2) 4hp electric motors I should have almost the same power as the twin with more attachment flexibility. Also the driveline will be simpler from a mechanical standpoint. I'm comfortable with the electrical end of things.

The downside will be the runtime limitations of the batteries. I'm hoping for 150% of the runtime needed to mow my lawn. Currently on a riding mower it takes me 45min to an hour.



Posted from my Samsung Galaxy S III 32gb via tapatalk 2.



#26 BowDown ONLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 177 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted July 29, 2013 - 07:31 AM

Looks like the motors will be here tomorrow. I may have a hookup on an electric hydraulic lift pump from a modern truck plow. Should work well for the front mount attachments.



#27 BowDown ONLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 177 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted July 29, 2013 - 01:31 PM

This is the pump assembly I was offered. Not sure how it works. Will get it tested and removed this week. Thing is huge. Lol.



Posted from my Samsung Galaxy S III 32gb via tapatalk 2.

Attached Thumbnails

  • uploadfromtaptalk1375122696822.jpg


#28 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,585 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted July 29, 2013 - 05:10 PM

That's a snow plow pump made by Fisher, used to raise, lower and angle the blade.

Runs on 12volt DC


Edited by DH1, July 29, 2013 - 05:10 PM.


#29 BowDown ONLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 177 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted July 29, 2013 - 05:26 PM

That's a snow plow pump made by Fisher, used to raise, lower and angle the blade.
Runs on 12volt DC

Yes sir. Will work for my front mount attachments. Also adjust angle by using the cylinders as tie rods.



Posted from my Samsung Galaxy S III 32gb via tapatalk 2.

Edited by BowDown, July 30, 2013 - 07:22 AM.


#30 BowDown ONLINE  

BowDown
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10128
  • 177 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Central, NY

Posted July 30, 2013 - 10:54 AM

Motors showed up today...

 

I would have to say the crating left a bit to be desired. Here is the condition pictures when I opened the box... The motors still appear to spin by hand. The one motor has more of a smooth slight resistance feel, the other has kind of a brush scrub feel. I believe they are both ok though?

 

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20130730_114712.jpg





Top