10 replies to this topic

#1 Birder Joe OFFLINE  

Birder Joe
  • Member No: 38516
  • 2 Thanks
  • 4 posts

Posted June 16, 2013 - 10:35 PM

Hello:

This is my first time posting on this group and hope someone can solve my problem.

I have had this 1975 Gravely for 39 years and this is the first time this problem has occurred.  The problem started when the PTO lever would not transfer power to the mower deck.  After removing the control cover plate and pushing the PTO lever farther forward it would active the mower deck.  That worked for sometime.  It would cut grass nicely but had trouble in tall grass.  After checking the belt (some wear but not too bad) I put a new PIX (not Gravely) 12" x 126.5" belt on.

It mowed great for awhile but then started having the same problem when mowing thick or tall grass and finally would not work at all.  

The shaft coming out of the transmission turns when the drive shaft that connects to the mower deck is off.  I can turn the blades on the mower deck when the drive shaft is off as well.

More information:

Belt tensioner distance between spring is .049"

PTO shaft coming out of transmission turns all the time but turns faster when the PTO lever is in the in position.

PTO switch seems to work.

I would like to isolate the problem to either the mower deck or transmission. 

I'm baffled!

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks You,

Birder Joe

• hamman said thank you

#2 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

Tractorholic

• Member No: 4243
  • 2,699 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts

Posted June 17, 2013 - 01:23 PM