• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Captain_Sparrow OFFLINE  

Captain_Sparrow
  • Member No: 32281
  • 53 Thanks
  • 46 posts

Posted June 03, 2013 - 11:06 PM

Alright I must hang my head and admit that there are a lot of implements that I've never used before.  I've been asked by two diff people to level out some piles of dirt that were left in their yards.  One of the piles I get to take home if I clean up the remaining and I want to do it right.  As a kid, I just drug an I-beam behind the tractor and tilled up high spots to drag them down.  I don't have an I-beam or a tiller now.

What I have is a home made box blade without rippers and a bucket loader.  What I'm wondering is, is the box blade supposed to float so as to not dig in when the tires go over bumps in the dirt? or do you typically drag some thing behind to fill in the lil bumps?  I really don't have the money for a drag harrow but I'm thinking that a 4x4 post with about 5' of chain link fence should help.  I've even used a pallet before but don't have any of those at the moment either.

Whats protocol and what kind of impromptu implements have you guys used for leveling out terrain?

• JRJ said thank you

#2 OkieGt OFFLINE  

OkieGt
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 36782
  • 1,427 Thanks
  • 1,447 posts

Posted June 03, 2013 - 11:40 PM

Alright I must hang my head and admit that there are a lot of implements that I've never used before.  I've been asked by two diff people to level out some piles of dirt that were left in their yards.  One of the piles I get to take home if I clean up the remaining and I want to do it right.  As a kid, I just drug an I-beam behind the tractor and tilled up high spots to drag them down.  I don't have an I-beam or a tiller now.