Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Virus


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#46 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,269 Thanks
  • 28,607 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted November 03, 2010 - 07:40 PM

HA HA HA !!! What are you trying to say Alan ?:rofl2:Is that a poke in the eye?:laughingteeth:


Nope, just wondered, as it looked like Greek, but didn't want to exclude. LOL

#47 WQDL753 OFFLINE  

WQDL753

    Bolensholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1407
  • 59 Thanks
  • 301 posts
  • Location: Beaver, PA

Posted November 03, 2010 - 07:57 PM

And if 30-60 PSI doesn't work, try about 124 grains, right WQDL753 ?

:rofl2::rofl2::shoot2:I carry 180's in my sig, but 124 will fix it just fine. lol
and Y'all can call me Billy

#48 justwalt OFFLINE  

justwalt

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 1318
  • 4 Thanks
  • 112 posts
  • Location: honesdale pa

Posted November 03, 2010 - 08:52 PM

If you have power supply issues, better save any files or pictures that you want
to keep, things could trickle down and take out the hard drive.

On your original symptoms, are you running DSL over phone lines?

I have the same symptoms on a new computer, but DSL on old twisted copper
lines is nowhere near what broadband is.

I have Verizon...(sucks, sucks, sucks), and I believe they're doing rolling drops...
(that is to say they're dropping a block of customers to let the overloaded lines
feed other customers).

Peak hours are the worse.
No cable at my location... only two homes here on my stretch of the road.
I'm going to Hughs Net very shortly.

#49 mikebramel OFFLINE  

mikebramel

    Ron Paul

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 82
  • 176 Thanks
  • 1,009 posts
  • Location: Milwaukee

Posted November 03, 2010 - 10:00 PM

Like he said the cpu could be throttling back because of the heat. I would put a heavy load on the machine then reboot, go into the bios and look at the cpu temp. Also, download Sysinternals Process Explorer and look at what is taking up your memory or cpu time. You could also have a bad sector on your RAM.

#50 randyhob OFFLINE  

randyhob

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 1449
  • 0 Thanks
  • 3 posts

Posted November 03, 2010 - 10:59 PM

Hey guys,my computer is acting odd,it may have picked up a virus or something,so if I disappear for a while,my computer might be down.


try spybot. i believe current version 1.6.2. free download. try the cnet for login. you can alsotry the free lavasoft version of adware. also delete cache, and remove both programs after using. do not instalthe spybot teatimer. hope you get thisand it may help

#51 WQDL753 OFFLINE  

WQDL753

    Bolensholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1407
  • 59 Thanks
  • 301 posts
  • Location: Beaver, PA

Posted November 04, 2010 - 12:46 AM

Finally home, the pgm. I metioned earlier is called speedfan v. 4.41 it's very powerfull, any sensor in your system it will detect and put it all in one easy place to see temps, fan speeds, voltage, even the info provided by smart HDD, you can make changes with it too but that is NOT recomended for those with a weak stomach or thin wallet. lol

#52 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted November 04, 2010 - 06:26 AM

try spybot. i believe current version 1.6.2. free download. try the cnet for login. you can alsotry the free lavasoft version of adware. also delete cache, and remove both programs after using. do not instalthe spybot teatimer. hope you get thisand it may help


I am using Spybot.

#53 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,269 Thanks
  • 28,607 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted November 04, 2010 - 07:27 AM

How's it going?

#54 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted November 04, 2010 - 09:44 AM

How's it going?



Well I took the covers off the bottom and blew it out with low air pressure,and there was a lot of what looked like whitish dust in it ,and Then I put it back together.Next I built a little " stand" for it with an open bottom to raise it up off the desk another inch.Now when It is on,the cooling fan isn't going crazy.It seems to be better,so maybe it was heat causing the problem.Thanks guys for all your suggestions.

#55 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted November 04, 2010 - 04:43 PM

Good deal Maynard. Always nice when a good blow job fixes everything.

#56 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted November 04, 2010 - 06:08 PM

Good deal Maynard. Always nice when a good blow job fixes everything.


You almost might have to censor yourself there George.:rofl2:

#57 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted November 04, 2010 - 06:10 PM

Well now you quoted me LOL

#58 ducky ONLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted November 22, 2010 - 11:22 PM

Well I took the covers off the bottom and blew it out with low air pressure,and there was a lot of what looked like whitish dust in it ,and Then I put it back together.Next I built a little " stand" for it with an open bottom to raise it up off the desk another inch.Now when It is on,the cooling fan isn't going crazy.It seems to be better,so maybe it was heat causing the problem.Thanks guys for all your suggestions.

Maynard
We see desktops puters at work that have been lacks on maintenance. Hair balls bigger than you can imagine . Then we find the CPU or a Video card over heated and it quit in mid stem.
I am trying to make some time so we can pull a box and install a new clean box. Not the biggest deal on a server. Set permissions and job is done
My desktop goes out in the shop and gets a Blow job every 6 months and is still at my desk for the last 8 years. Everybody gives me the look but I have all my information that I keep on the hard drive, which is a bit because I save most anything that I can use in the future. This is all backed up on the corporate server as well so it will always be backed up.
The company seems to go with the "replace and do not waste any time on Trouble shooting"
I do this with my home puters as well and do not have many issues. They seem to keep on keeping on.
Of course good firewalls and anti-virus is mandatory. Then use good spyware and adware monitors and life should be good.
This sound simple but it need to be kept current and up to date to do its job.
Questions, Please ask.

#59 minerbob OFFLINE  

minerbob

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 1151
  • 0 Thanks
  • 2 posts
  • Location: Motherlode (gold rush) area of CAlifornia

Posted November 28, 2010 - 03:05 PM

Ducky,
As a past computer tech/dealer, I must suggest that if your hard drive is 8 years old you are on electronic borrowed time with it. Suggest you get an external USB hard drive, somewhat larger than what you are using, and back up your internal hard drive onto the external one. Otherwise it is a crap shoot...
Minerbob

#60 ducky ONLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted November 30, 2010 - 02:09 PM

Ducky,
As a past computer tech/dealer, I must suggest that if your hard drive is 8 years old you are on electronic borrowed time with it. Suggest you get an external USB hard drive, somewhat larger than what you are using, and back up your internal hard drive onto the external one. Otherwise it is a crap shoot...
Minerbob

We are on a server here at work so everything is backed up daily and a copy kept off sight. in case of fire.




Top