Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Virus


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#16 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:30 PM

I don't run any antivirus on my computer. I have gotten a virus one time but I was able to install avg and it took care of it. I love messing with computers and build my own and I am always switching operating systems.

If you wanna fight viruses you could always run linux, very hard to get a virus when you are using linux unless you have a habbit of logging in as root which is a big no no.

#17 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:31 PM

I use AVG right now.

#18 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:32 PM

I have not installed anything recently.and yes,I believe maybe I do remember the screen "flickering" once the other day,but I didn't think anything of it.So what should I do,or have somebody do for me?


Here is a link that MH81 suggested for Anitvir: Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com
  • mjodrey said thank you

#19 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:32 PM

Maynard do you know how to get into safe mode on windows?

#20 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,336 Thanks
  • 28,645 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:35 PM

I have not installed anything recently.and yes,I believe maybe I do remember the screen "flickering" once the other day,but I didn't think anything of it.So what should I do,or have somebody do for me?


Maynard,
RE: AVG , please see above post by me...
Oh, & I know where you got your "bug"... It was surfing for funny signs or something. :D
Hope this all works out OK for you.

#21 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,336 Thanks
  • 28,645 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:38 PM

...unless you have a habbit of logging in as root which is a big no no.


Right, roots are not logs. Logs are above the ground, roots are below.

Linux is one of those Magical pixie things that I just take for granted people know what they're doing... The last language I actually learned was Qbasic (George, don't you laugh) I made a screen saver for my 386 with it... very helpful.

#22 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:38 PM


Oh, & I know where you got your "bug"... It was surfing for funny signs or something. :D

Funny signs ?? Why what ever are you talking about.:bigrofl:

#23 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:39 PM

Funny signs ?? Why what ever are you talking about.:bigrofl:



LMAO, I have no idea.

#24 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:41 PM

Maynard do you know how to get into safe mode on windows?


No, I can't say as I do.

#25 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:45 PM

My neighbor uses something called ABUNTU,I am sure I don't have that spelled right.Anyway,he say it is nearly impossible to get a virus when using that.

#26 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:46 PM

Anyway, download the Antivir program that I linked to. Once you have it downloaded reboot the computer and you will get what they call the bios flash screen. Usually the maker of your computer is on the screen, keep pressing the f8 key and it will come up with an option to start windows normally or in safe mode with or without networking. Choose the option with networking. Go to wherever your download was saved to and install the Antivir program and let it run. Once it is installed you can try running it while in safe mode and see if it finds anything.

#27 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:47 PM

My neighbor uses something called ABUNTU,I am sure I don't have that spelled right.Anyway,he say it is nearly impossible to get a virus when using that.


Ya, that would be Ubuntu, it is a distro of Linux based off of Debian.

#28 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,336 Thanks
  • 28,645 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:49 PM

Ya, that would be Ubuntu, it is a distro of Linux based off of Debian.


Maynard, is this Gaelic?

#29 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:50 PM

Ya, that would be Ubuntu, it is a distro of Linux based off of Debian.



Is that any good,he offered to install that for me last year and I wasn't sure about it.This stuff is all way over my head.

#30 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted November 03, 2010 - 06:52 PM

I will try that link,but not tonight,I'm about done for the day.Thanks so much guys,I'll be talking to ya.




Top