19 replies to this topic

#1 Walkinman1 OFFLINE  

Walkinman1
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 34918
  • 713 Thanks
  • 552 posts

Posted May 26, 2013 - 04:51 PM

Even though I'm doing this on my Ford 120 I think most of what can be applied to a lot of different tractor makes and models, if it should be in the Ford specific section instead maybe the mod's can move it...

So as I was heading home for the holiday from a run (I'm a truck driver for those that don't know) one or both of the head gaskets on my truck decided to let go. After some diagnostic work, some cursing, pulling the engine, more cursing, engine disassembly, even more cursing (you get the picture) I've done basically all I can do until Tuesday when the machine shop can get to work on the heads.

7.3 Pulled.jpg

I decided to take a break from that project and work on something more fun.  The steering on my Ford 120 is quite sloppy and difficult, even after greasing... Started taking it apart a few days ago, found a lot of worn out parts, put in an order, then got sidetracked working on the truck.  

We'll start at the top and work our way down:

The woodruff key that locates the steering wheel on the shaft needed some attention.  I found some info on repairing woodruff key slots with steel epoxy (JB weld, etc.) so I gave it a shot with some Loctite steel epoxy I found and a new key... Coat the key with vaseline, fill the slot with epoxy putty and squeeze the key into place, wait until it just starts to harden up and pull the key out, let cure and clean up later.

Steering Shaft 2.jpg

Steering Shaft 3.jpg

Here are before cleanup and after cleanup pics, the epoxy only built up maybe a couple of thousandths on either side of the key, the verdict is still out on how well it works, we'll see.