Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Hydro Help


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted May 24, 2013 - 06:05 PM

How do I purge the system ? I punched a hole in the filter and all the fluid drained out. I put on a new filter and topped out off with hytran no it won't go. It's a 3186 cub. Thanks

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk 2



#2 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,302 Thanks
  • 4,657 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted May 24, 2013 - 08:25 PM

Engage the hydro's release and start it up and shift the thing back and forth repeatedly..  By doing this you will only be running oil through the pump and purge the air out..  after a little bit of doing this re-engage the hydro and drive it around to get the rest of the air out..


  • BairleaFarm said thank you

#3 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted May 24, 2013 - 09:19 PM

Thanks

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk 2



#4 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,302 Thanks
  • 4,657 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted May 24, 2013 - 09:41 PM

Always use the correct filter BTW..  If you substitute an auto type filter some have check valves and won't let things flow both ways..



#5 CADplans OFFLINE  

CADplans
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 35311
  • 219 Thanks
  • 213 posts
  • Location: Roanoke VA

Posted May 24, 2013 - 09:44 PM

Sometimes, pre-filling the filter with as much oil as possible helps.

 

I had to do that to a "larger" tractor, and it was an IH filter.



#6 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted May 24, 2013 - 09:46 PM

You can't on these...the filter is sideways

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk 2



#7 CADplans OFFLINE  

CADplans
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 35311
  • 219 Thanks
  • 213 posts
  • Location: Roanoke VA

Posted May 24, 2013 - 10:09 PM

You can't on these...the filter is sideways

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk 2

Some, is better than dry, how fast are you!!??  :dancingbanana:



#8 ol' stonebreaker ONLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,304 Thanks
  • 973 posts
  • Location: idaho

Posted May 24, 2013 - 11:13 PM

Always use the correct filter BTW..  If you substitute an auto type filter some have check valves and won't let things flow both ways..

 

  Why would you want contaminants trapped in a filter to go back in the system?

                                                       Mike   



#9 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,302 Thanks
  • 4,657 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted May 25, 2013 - 05:17 AM

it's just that they won't let it bleed the air out.  The oil is pressurized BEFORE it enters the filter in a car and not in a hydro pump & it won't draw the fluid out where there isn't any?  This has been discussed many times over the years..  Anyone else agree? :anyone:



#10 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted May 25, 2013 - 06:51 AM

Purging didn't help. I did notice the filter says oil filter. I looked on the web abs saw that was a common issue with cross referenced filers. Back to town in a bit to get a hydraulic filter.

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk 2



#11 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted May 25, 2013 - 07:58 AM

I went to the dealer. I wanted to be sure I had the right stuff. 75$ for oil and a filter. Holy crap. He said change the filter once a year and to be quick so that 12$ a quart oil doesn't drain out.

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk 2



#12 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,589 Thanks
  • 29,831 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted May 25, 2013 - 08:24 AM

Wow David, normal hytran would have done just fine.  That's horribly expensive oil!  



#13 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,302 Thanks
  • 4,657 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted May 25, 2013 - 08:35 AM

Wow David, normal hytran would have done just fine.  That's horribly expensive oil!  

Some CC trannys are just finicky..  They work best on the 'Liquid Gold'!

 

You made out good!

 

I tried alternate oil but it didn't work well at all..

 

My Tranny on my 2165 took $110 worth of oil to fill!!  OUCHIE!


Edited by WNYTractorTinkerer, May 25, 2013 - 08:38 AM.


#14 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted May 25, 2013 - 08:36 AM

Not according to the dealer. It was themechanic so he wasn't out to increase sales. I'm not going to risk it. I got mixed reviews while reading different forums and such.

Sent from my HTC One VX using Tapatalk 2



#15 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,589 Thanks
  • 29,831 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted May 25, 2013 - 08:51 AM

Basically it's the exact same hydro as in my JD F935 & 430.  I actually bought one from a Cub Cadet to get the parts I needed when I got my F935 with it'as hydro messed up.  Only difference pretty much is the input splines & output gear.






Top