Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Johnson Loader Hydraulic Fluid?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 jdslednut ONLINE  

jdslednut

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 77
  • 636 Thanks
  • 837 posts
  • Location: Winthrop, MN

Posted May 21, 2013 - 08:42 PM

Any ideas on what fluid would work best in a Johnson model 10 loader running off its own pump?  Also, how much it would take?  I believe it's completely empty.  Thank you.



#2 CADplans OFFLINE  

CADplans
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 35311
  • 219 Thanks
  • 213 posts
  • Location: Roanoke VA

Posted May 21, 2013 - 08:50 PM

The hydraulic fluid should be suited for the pump, all the other components will go along for the ride.

 

Hydraulic transmission fluid is inexpensive, easy to get, and covers 99% of pump applications. 

 

I would just dump in the HyTran.


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#3 Clippnalawn OFFLINE  

Clippnalawn

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4993
  • 109 Thanks
  • 104 posts
  • Location: Bellingham, Washington

Posted May 21, 2013 - 09:52 PM

I use just the plain ol' "tractor hydraulic" in my loader. It seems to work just fine. Not sure on how much fluid it holds but it can't be much more than a couple gallons in mine..image.jpg

#4 John@Reliable OFFLINE  

John@Reliable

    Procrastinators unite tomorrow

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 36
  • 1,295 Thanks
  • 1,416 posts
  • Location: Boston- Cape Cod MA

Posted May 21, 2013 - 10:14 PM

What ever hydraulic oil that is on sell at TSC when I need it :D , I agree with Clipp about two gallons.

If it is empty,  I would buy a five gallon bucket to have enough to flush ,purge and refill system :thumbs:



#5 Cvans ONLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,480 Thanks
  • 5,013 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted May 21, 2013 - 10:33 PM

I believe mine is running ATF. When I purchased it the oil was red so when I put new in it was ATF. That was several years and many hours ago and it is working fine. Seeing as how you live east of me your weather is probably the same. ATF is thinner and faster in the cold weather we experience. 


Edited by Cvans, May 21, 2013 - 10:34 PM.





Top