8 replies to this topic

#1 WeirdTim OFFLINE  

WeirdTim
  • Member No: 9739
  • 14 Thanks
  • 8 posts

Posted May 21, 2013 - 01:52 PM

Hello,

This is my first time posting on here, but I’ve been reading the pages of information for some time.

Live in southern Wisconsin and mow ¾ of an acre in the country with a MF-7 that I picked up last spring.  It had a 7 hp Briggs pull start in it that got me through last year.  Assumed that the original Tecumseh had locked up back in the early 70’s judging by the age of the Briggs.  Got really old pull starting that Briggs that used half a quart of oil every time it mowed.  So this spring I found locally a really nice, complete K181 Kohler that was pulled out of a 1970 110 John Deere complete with wiring, fuel pump, starter, engine shrouds and air cleaner.  Spent the better part of one Sunday cleaning, painting and detailing the Kohler out.  Even polishing the carb float bowl.  I ride/restore/race vintage motorcycles from the 60’s and 70’s so I’ve got some aluminum polishing capabilities at home.  Anyways, I degreased the engine bay of the MF-7 and set the new Kohler in.  The tractor looked terrible with that new looking engine in it…….so the tractor came apart. 

20130407_184017.jpg

20130407_184027.jpg

20130407_184032.jpg

Took off all the sheet metal, got rid of all the rust, primed with implement red oxide primer from Farm & Fleet and then spray bombed with Massey colors.  It turned out alright.  If I didn’t have a deadline to meet (grass was GROWING!) I would have made the body work way nice and smooth.  The left side of the grill was bent out to accommodate the air cleaner for the Briggs so the grill was completely disassembled, pounded out with my body hammers/dolly’s, painted and reassembled.  Even ordered up a decal kit for it….looks sharp now.  Just have to install the headlights.