Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Trying to gauge interest in tachometer, possible group buy.


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

Poll: How many tachometers would you buy? (20 member(s) have cast votes)

How many tachometers would you buy?

  1. 1 (7 votes [35.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 35.00%

  2. 2 (6 votes [30.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 30.00%

  3. 3 (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  4. 4 or more. (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  5. Would like one but can't afford one. (7 votes [35.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 35.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#16 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted October 27, 2010 - 08:10 PM

The one tach I was going to see about importing you would have been able to set it like a car tach with two pulse or one pulse per rev.

#17 mikebramel OFFLINE  

mikebramel

    Ron Paul

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 82
  • 176 Thanks
  • 1,009 posts
  • Location: Milwaukee

Posted October 27, 2010 - 08:52 PM

ONE FOR ME or 2 for 100

#18 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted October 27, 2010 - 10:10 PM

The one tach I was going to see about importing you would have been able to set it like a car tach with two pulse or one pulse per rev.

That would be the answer to everybody.
I would start with 2 if in the $50 range per.

#19 hydriv OFFLINE  

hydriv

    Tractorholic

  • Validating
  • Member No: 256
  • 70 Thanks
  • 583 posts

Posted October 28, 2010 - 06:39 AM

For all of you who are sorta sitting on the fence, I'd like to add the following.

This is the very first tach that is designed the way conventional tachometers are normally designed. YES....there are less expensive tachs out there, such as Tiny Tach, but those tacks are hermetically sealed with a battery inside. When the battery fails, you toss the tach in the garbage and buy a new one. That's something that always ticked me off. Also, if you are into competing, then a large analog tach is better than a digital one iMHO, because you can put a red stripe or a dot on the outside of the glass at whatever RPM you feel is ideal. Trying to read teeny digits in the midst of guiding your tractor is next to impossible. I know that this one seems a bit pricey but quality is usually something you pay for once and then get to pat yourself on the back for as the years roll by.

#20 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,657 Thanks
  • 29,842 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted October 28, 2010 - 08:32 AM

Yep, gotta agree with hydriv. This tach is way beyond tiny tachs for rpm readings. No, it doesn't track hours, but I'd prefer it way over the digital. Wish I could afford one....well I can, but other things to pay for at the moment.

#21 Chuck_050382 OFFLINE  

Chuck_050382

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 32
  • 267 Thanks
  • 1,498 posts
  • Location: Mt. Vernon, IL

Posted October 28, 2010 - 09:08 AM

I marked Can't afford one but at a price point lower than $85 I might be interested.

#22 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

    Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts
  • Location: Edinburg, PA

Posted October 28, 2010 - 06:09 PM

I wouldn't mind having one for adjusting idle speeds and gauging full throttle speeds, but if I bought one, I'd probably just mount it in a box and put alligator clips on all the leads to be used on all my GT's as a tool for tune-ups and troubleshooting. At $85 though it's a little steep for me.

#23 mikebramel OFFLINE  

mikebramel

    Ron Paul

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 82
  • 176 Thanks
  • 1,009 posts
  • Location: Milwaukee

Posted October 28, 2010 - 09:11 PM

if thats all you want you might want to look into a multimeter with an inductive clamp. i have one from harbor freight for $35 and it works on kohlers with battery ign and tecumseh with magneto ignition. wont work for weed wackers or push mowers id imagine

#24 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

    Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts
  • Location: Edinburg, PA

Posted October 29, 2010 - 08:24 AM

if thats all you want you might want to look into a multimeter with an inductive clamp. i have one from harbor freight for $35 and it works on kohlers with battery ign and tecumseh with magneto ignition. wont work for weed wackers or push mowers id imagine

I have one with the inductive clamp. I don't see how that would work as a tach. I'm sure that I'm just stuck "thinking inside the box", and at the risk of looking like an idiot in front of everyone else, if you could explain I'd be grateful! I have seen automotive DMM's that have a tach/dwell setting before, but have never been able to justify the extra expense as I can use a regular DMM for checking everything else.

#25 mikebramel OFFLINE  

mikebramel

    Ron Paul

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 82
  • 176 Thanks
  • 1,009 posts
  • Location: Milwaukee

Posted October 30, 2010 - 12:57 AM

clamp it on and set the meter to the tachometer setting. not sure what else i can say?

#26 mikebramel OFFLINE  

mikebramel

    Ron Paul

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 82
  • 176 Thanks
  • 1,009 posts
  • Location: Milwaukee

Posted October 30, 2010 - 01:30 AM

YouTube - Cen-Tech Digital Automotive Tester

$24 after coupon
3-1/2" LCD Multimeter with Tachometer Kit

#27 M&M13 OFFLINE  

M&M13
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1368
  • 11 Thanks
  • 159 posts

Posted October 30, 2010 - 07:10 AM

I tried for a couple weeks to find something that would work. The only option I found close was to import and I never did that before and don't think I would want to try. I know my luck and it wouldn't be the tachs that got imported and my money would be gone LOL.

I think it would be awesome to have some gttalk logo'd tachs.


Id have to agree i think importing would be more of an export of your money than an import of a quality product!

#28 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

    Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts
  • Location: Edinburg, PA

Posted October 30, 2010 - 11:17 AM

clamp it on and set the meter to the tachometer setting. not sure what else i can say?


Sorry Mike. I didn't realize that you were talking about one of the automotive style meters. This is what I have and was talking about
DMM.jpg
It doesn't have a tach setting. Sorry for the confusion.

#29 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

    Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts
  • Location: Edinburg, PA

Posted October 30, 2010 - 11:20 AM

I would be interested in one at $50. Especially if it had the GTT logo on the face!

#30 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted October 31, 2010 - 07:39 PM

I am going to get in touch with the seller and see if we can work something out. Worst they can say is no. But considering there is a possibility of selling 18 of them maybe they will work something out.

I am also going to start my search on finding other tachs or a make to see about getting a couple with the logo on them.




Top