#1 hamman OFFLINE  

hamman

Homelite Owner Extraordinaire

• Contributor
  • Member No: 1733
  • 5,626 Thanks
  • 2,579 posts

Posted May 12, 2013 - 06:18 PM

My son and I are working on a Toro HXL LT with a B & S , Model - 28N707, Type - 013-01, Code - 970314ZE. I twill run but it is hard to start and the most perplexing thing is that when you try to start it by cranking it over it doesn't fire until you let off the key and it then will fire and sometimes start. It has an electronic carb on it, which I am not familiar with. It sat over the winter and I have put Seafoam in it trying to get it to start easier. I don't want to tear into the carb because I have no knowledge of one like it and we are doing this for free because he has no money . Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I had it running earlier today in the garage but I was just out there and it would crank but not start again. Thanks for any help. Roger. 

• JRJ said thank you

#2 IlovemyCub OFFLINE  

IlovemyCub
  • GTt Junior
  • Member No: 33704
  • 171 Thanks
  • 204 posts

Posted May 12, 2013 - 06:25 PM

I would think its the starter because my grandpa had a John Deere 180 that started very hard, similar to your problem. So what me and my dad did was take the starter apart and oiled the shoot out gear, and it worked fine after that. Just a thought. Ian. 

• hamman said thank you

#3 hamman OFFLINE  

hamman

• Contributor
  • 5,626 Thanks
  • 2,579 posts

Posted May 12, 2013 - 06:53 PM

I thought it might be the starter but the bendix work great and it spins free also. I put my spark tester on it and it doesn't light until you let off the switch and the motor spins free. It is a new switch he put in last year and from the wiring diagram I have it appears to be wired correctly. Roger.

#4 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts

Posted May 12, 2013 - 07:35 PM