Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Mf14/16 Hyd Question


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted May 09, 2013 - 09:33 PM

The MF14/16 come with hyd lift with a single control.

Is it true that if you run the return line from the factory control valve to the input of a 2nd single control and it's return line to the tank you will have 2 separate controls that can operate 2 separate cylinders?



#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,657 Thanks
  • 29,842 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted May 09, 2013 - 09:36 PM

Yep!, or run it to a dual or triple spool if ya want!


  • DH1 said thank you

#3 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted May 09, 2013 - 09:39 PM

So why would you want to use a diverter valve to control different hyd cylinders?

Having 2 separate controls would be better wouldn't it?



#4 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted May 10, 2013 - 05:20 AM

I think it may be because diverter valves are cheaper and smaller, so you can place one on the side of a console rather than having to find a larger spot that will allow the second valve. The additional control levers would need to be in a readily usable position as well. You may be better off finding a multi channel valve(maybe from a JD) and replacing the stock one so the levers would be in the same location.


  • DH1 said thank you

#5 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted May 10, 2013 - 06:51 AM

There really is no room behind the dash, for a second valve, or a 2 spool valve.

On my 16, I put a solenoid operated valve under the seat, and a toggle switch

in the dash.

P1010008a.JPG

 

If you don't care about keeping it looking original, you could mount a 2 spool valve on

top of the left or right fender, or  you could take it a step further, and cut out part

of that fender, and make a cover to conceal the valve, like they did on the

MF1450/1650's.....    I just wish the wouldn't have used plastic, for the cover.

The Boss (4).jpg


  • DH1 said thank you

#6 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted May 10, 2013 - 05:42 PM

I wouldn't mind having a single control located on the right rear fender beside the seat for the rear lift, push forward for down, push back for up, just like you find on a full size tractor.


  • JDBrian said thank you

#7 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted May 10, 2013 - 06:54 PM

Are you planning on putting a foot pedal on for the hydro control?



#8 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted May 10, 2013 - 06:57 PM

Are you planning on putting a foot pedal on for the hydro control?

 

No foot pedal just use the hand control.



#9 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted May 10, 2013 - 07:04 PM

I'm just thinking about trying to make it easier to operate.

You'd have your right hand full, if trying to operate the 3pt, and

drive at the same time.

 

How about 2 push buttons on the hydro lever?



#10 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted May 10, 2013 - 07:08 PM

I guess I could put 2 push buttons on the Hydro control and use a 12volt snow plow hyd pump to feed the rear lift cylinder, up and down.



#11 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted May 10, 2013 - 07:12 PM

Do you have one of those?

 

That would save messing with the deck lift circuit.

 

 

BTW, I brought the MF8H home today.


  • MH81 said thank you

#12 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted May 10, 2013 - 07:26 PM

No I got no snow plow pump, just thinking.



#13 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted May 11, 2013 - 05:41 AM

Doug, have you thought of using an electric actuator to get the second implement lift? 






Top