Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

I've Got Another Question


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Jordan9682 OFFLINE  

Jordan9682
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 31931
  • 71 Thanks
  • 137 posts
  • Location: Southwest saskatchewan

Posted April 30, 2013 - 05:38 PM

The majority of my garden is usually growing corn(its not a very large garden either) but anyway,
Corn is grown in rows. Why is this?
Just a thought, but couldn't i broadcast on my seed and work it in? Or would you not get good results??

Thanks for input to my endless questions about relatively unimportant things...

#2 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

    Therapy CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,758 Thanks
  • 8,928 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted April 30, 2013 - 05:46 PM

You can plant 3-5 plants in a hill like cucumbers if you prefer. Corn is planted in rows for ease of cultivation, spraying, and harvest. In other words, it's planted in rows because that's how it's done on a larger scale.


  • Jordan9682 said thank you

#3 Jordan9682 OFFLINE  

Jordan9682
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 31931
  • 71 Thanks
  • 137 posts
  • Location: Southwest saskatchewan

Posted April 30, 2013 - 05:50 PM

Corn is planted in rows for ease of cultivation, spraying, and harvest.


I completely forgot about cultivating...

#4 Reverend Blair OFFLINE  

Reverend Blair

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1659
  • 501 Thanks
  • 952 posts
  • Location: Winnipeg

Posted April 30, 2013 - 05:57 PM

Broadcast seeding in a garden is one of those things that makes everything else harder.  I know, because I had the same idea as you a couple of decades ago.  I did it with the corn and the peas, then just dragged a harrow over to bury the seeds. Then I spent the summer and fall cursing myself.  Good crop though.

 

I'm thinking of using the hill method for peas this year. Never tried it before.


  • Alc, bja105 and Jordan9682 have said thanks

#5 Amigatec OFFLINE  

Amigatec

    Collector of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5899
  • 2,023 Thanks
  • 3,172 posts
  • Location: Haskell Oklahoma

Posted April 30, 2013 - 06:10 PM

Corn needs to be planted in a block. The tassel at the top contains the pollen, and the silk contains the seed. It takes wind to knock the pollen off the top and pollinate the silk. Also you need good airflow through the plants so the pollen can reach the silk, and to help kept mold from starting on wet plants.
  • Alc, twostep, oldedeeres and 1 other said thanks

#6 Jordan9682 OFFLINE  

Jordan9682
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 31931
  • 71 Thanks
  • 137 posts
  • Location: Southwest saskatchewan

Posted April 30, 2013 - 10:11 PM

Thanks for the heads up.

Rows it is!

#7 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,460 Thanks
  • 6,630 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted May 01, 2013 - 05:55 AM

I think what Pat ( Amigatec ) is saying about airflow is why my corn didn't do good the way I've been trying to grow it , only 12" rows 4 rows in a wide bed 15' a planting , most of the ears had some kind of funguss growing on them .  I'm going to spread them out this year



#8 Amigatec OFFLINE  

Amigatec

    Collector of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5899
  • 2,023 Thanks
  • 3,172 posts
  • Location: Haskell Oklahoma

Posted May 01, 2013 - 06:01 AM

I planted mine last year on 12" rows, but it was so dry it didn't do very good. Also corn is a grass and needs a lot of Nitrogen to do well. By planting the rows wider you can get in between the rows to fertilize better. I prefer blood meal for that.






Top