6 replies to this topic

#1 dma OFFLINE  

dma
  • Member No: 34523
  • 1 Thanks
  • 1 posts

Posted April 29, 2013 - 09:49 AM

hello all,

i just bought a gravely cheap at an auction, and according to the serial number(j-63996) its a 1970, 7.6 model. it has a place up front for a battery and a plate beside the fly wheel for a starter, i assume. what i need help with is what all parts will i need to turn it electric start? im not a moron, so i know i can handle doing the conversion, but i am a rookie who is smart enough to know when he needs advice.

ive put up pics of all sides as close as i could still giving perspective, if more will help please tell me and ill put them on. thank you in advance for any advice your able to give, i appreciate it.

one more question, the flywheel will turn both directions easily....what direction should it go to start counter clockwise or clockwise.106.JPG 107.JPG 108.JPG 110.JPG 111.JPG 112.JPG

• Dieselcubmike said thank you

#2 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,710 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts

Posted April 29, 2013 - 10:07 AM

Welcome to GTtalk dma.  I'm not familiar with the conversion you are wanting to do but someone will be along shortly that can help you.  I hope you enjoy our community of Tractor nut's.

#3 Dieselcubmike OFFLINE  

Dieselcubmike
  • Member No: 11127
  • 1,327 Thanks
  • 1,511 posts

Posted April 29, 2013 - 10:14 AM

Hi there and welcome! :wave: Very nice gravely you got there. Unfortunately im not familiar with these but give it some time and someone will be along shortly. All of our mechanics work during the day but come during the evening youll be overwhelmed with responses! so hang tight and check back often. :thumbs:  

#4 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

FORDoholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,483 Thanks
  • 39,716 posts