Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

My 88 Bronco wont start


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 fordmustang1984 OFFLINE  

fordmustang1984

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 27
  • 23 Thanks
  • 428 posts
  • Location: Taunton, Ma

Posted October 19, 2010 - 05:41 PM

Well, it hasnt for almost a year now, but thats beside the point. When i go to start it, neither of the fuel pumps come on. The relays under the hood have power from the battery, and the inertia switch is not tripped, so im at a loss. A quick code scan only showed me that the smog system needs a look through, but it needed that when it was working before. So does anyone know or have a suggestion as to what i should try next?

PS, both pumps do work, they have both been removed and tested remotely and were fine.

#2 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted October 19, 2010 - 07:41 PM

I had an 88 Ford F150, 4x4, 300EFI six. lasted 460,000 km got rid of it when the 2nd clutch failed still running original motor never apart.
It had 2 pumps like yours and after the original pump failed all the aftermarket ones lasted about 1 year and failed in the summer, the high pressure pump on the frame was my problem.
All I can say is try to trace back from the pump, look for broken wire, bad connection, bad ground gotto be some thing. Do the relays click, got power both sides in and out?

#3 fordmustang1984 OFFLINE  

fordmustang1984

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 27
  • 23 Thanks
  • 428 posts
  • Location: Taunton, Ma

Posted October 19, 2010 - 09:16 PM

Only one relay clicks. Im going to put a code scanner on it again, and run some more thorough tests on the pump relays. I have a feeling that either a relay is bad, or the ignition switch is not telling the computer to run the pumps.

#4 fordmustang1984 OFFLINE  

fordmustang1984

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 27
  • 23 Thanks
  • 428 posts
  • Location: Taunton, Ma

Posted October 20, 2010 - 07:30 PM

ok, so now the front pump comes on, so the pump circut is working. But now i think the reap pump has gone bad from sitting, so out comes the sending unit again.

#5 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

    Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts
  • Location: Edinburg, PA

Posted October 22, 2010 - 07:35 AM

While you're in there, I'd look around for a bad ground. That can be the most frustrating thing! Ground loop problems can make the weirdest stuff happen and it's not necessarily the same thing each time either! Best of luck.

#6 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted October 22, 2010 - 09:54 AM

You want to make sure that your relays are working,I have run across that so many times.Is there power going to to pumps,I mean do you have power right at the pumps ?

#7 fordmustang1984 OFFLINE  

fordmustang1984

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 27
  • 23 Thanks
  • 428 posts
  • Location: Taunton, Ma

Posted October 23, 2010 - 07:23 PM

yes, both pumps have power, and both relays work as they should. Dont even get me started on grounds, im still sorting out the ground on the stereo system in the truck. It never seems to make any sound, but everything has power?

#8 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted October 23, 2010 - 07:34 PM

If both pumps have power are they working?
If yes since it hasn't run for a year its probably lost it's prime, and then there is the gas to consider, is it good? Any water in it?

#9 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,316 Thanks
  • 28,634 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted October 23, 2010 - 07:39 PM

You should be able to hear the pumps for a few seconds, unless you did get the radio working. If so,then turn it down.:D

My last Ford Truck was near that vintage, had water in some Sheetz gas & most of it ended up in my filter that was mounted to the frame.

Very annoying, get it to pop, then nothing.

Ran like a champ if you put some gas in the intake tho...:smile1:

#10 fordmustang1984 OFFLINE  

fordmustang1984

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 27
  • 23 Thanks
  • 428 posts
  • Location: Taunton, Ma

Posted October 24, 2010 - 05:14 PM

Only the front pump is working, the rear ones go out just from sitting with 1/4 tank or less.

#11 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted October 24, 2010 - 05:41 PM

You need that rear one working as those pumps work better as pushers not pullers.

#12 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,316 Thanks
  • 28,634 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted October 24, 2010 - 06:09 PM

I've been reading this thread as this is a "Twin" tanks unit. Is that the case or am I assuming something again? :D

#13 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted October 24, 2010 - 06:13 PM

Broncos are single tank, 1 pump in the tank low pressure feeds the high pressure pump on the frame under the drivers door.

#14 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted October 24, 2010 - 06:37 PM

Broncos are single tank, 1 pump in the tank low pressure feeds the high pressure pump on the frame under the drivers door.


That is correct Doug.

#15 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,316 Thanks
  • 28,634 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted October 24, 2010 - 06:48 PM

I knew about the High pressure pump, I just thought we were talking about a twin tank unit and the in-tank pumps were the culprits.... DUH (Sorry Guys... not paying attention)

I guess my confusion comes from the truck I had having twins... Assumptions, assumptions. :D

EDIT: My truck did not give birth... I meant twin tanks




Top