#1 robert_p43 OFFLINE  

robert_p43
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11040
  • 572 Thanks
  • 534 posts

Posted April 07, 2013 - 08:17 PM

67 Sears Suburban 10

After working on it yesterday, I decided it was time to try again.  My son in law came by and we put the gas tank back on and checked for spark,  Pulled the recoil a few times and got it to pop 2 or 3 times.  After multiple tries, throttling up and down, choking and unchoking, breaking the old pull rope and repairing it using the same old rope, it started and was running for a few minutes non stop.  I am so excited I am beyond myself!  It sounded nice!  I started playing with the carb adjustments and it stalled.  My SIL noticed a good amount of oil coming out of the corner of the breather cover. Is this something in the internals or just the breather gasket?  I made a gasket yesterday but the material was pretty thin compared to the old gasket.

Thank You,

Robert

• MH81, boyscout862, Dieselcubmike and 1 other said thanks

#2 suburban 12 OFFLINE  

suburban 12
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 29382
  • 396 Thanks
  • 325 posts

Posted April 07, 2013 - 08:47 PM

Good to hear that it runs. Check your oil lever, I don't think the thickness of the new gasket would matter but just make a couple and put them on till its about the same thickness.

• robert_p43 said thank you

#3 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,288 Thanks
  • 28,622 posts

Posted April 07, 2013 - 08:52 PM

:dancingbanana: glad to hear you got some life in it. As for the oil leak, I would make sure the return path (hole) in there is open and then I would check to make sure the cover is flat. It may just be a gasket thickness issue, but check the other stuff first.

#4 robert_p43 OFFLINE  

robert_p43
  • Contributor
  • 572 Thanks
  • 534 posts

Posted April 07, 2013 - 09:12 PM