Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Wiring Question


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,745 Thanks
  • 1,396 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted April 06, 2013 - 09:02 PM

on the JD 210 I got from Craigslist

I was checking it over today and cleaning it up 

 

why would somebody ran a wire from the positive side of the battery to a troggle switch then to the positive side of the coil?

 

I check the switch with a multi meter and it checks okay.

also check the rest of the wiring from any shorts - so far so good

 

had fun cleaning the motor - a mouse make a nest behind the flywheel housing

lots of little nuts and some walnuts it there 

 

he told me that  he rebuild the motor and it rum great, but he had problems with the drive belts

so out came the variator and check it over. a little work on it and now it is spins free.  

will open up the transaxle this week and check it over

 

had to get a battery for it - went to a junk yard and brought a battery from a 2012 Ford for $35

got a year warranty this it.  

 

 


  • larryd said thank you

#2 chris m OFFLINE  

chris m

    Tractorholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8148
  • 3,277 Thanks
  • 4,033 posts
  • Location: Charlestown,Rhode Island

Posted April 06, 2013 - 09:09 PM

The only reason someone would put a toggle hooked like that  would be if they were not getting 12 volts at the coil with the key on. So possibly it has or had a bad switch or bad wire or connection in that circuit.


  • lyall and larryd have said thanks

#3 Gtractor ONLINE  

Gtractor

    The Tractor Hoarder

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 782
  • 6,584 Thanks
  • 3,900 posts
  • Location: Chillicothe, MO

Posted April 06, 2013 - 09:15 PM

I bet after it runs a while it quits and the wire is to bypass the switch to make sure the coil is getting power.  Dad has a 318 that quits often.  After changing the coil MANY times which is quite an ordeal because of the position of the engine, he just takes a break and lets it cool off for a while and then goes back to mow later.


  • lyall and larryd have said thanks

#4 HydroHarold OFFLINE  

HydroHarold
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9622
  • 702 Thanks
  • 977 posts
  • Location: Mid Hudson NY

Posted April 07, 2013 - 12:09 PM

"Secret Hidden Anti-Start Switch"?


  • lyall said thank you

#5 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,745 Thanks
  • 1,396 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted April 07, 2013 - 12:57 PM

"Secret Hidden Anti-Start Switch"?

but it is not hidden on the dash



#6 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,602 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted April 07, 2013 - 01:08 PM

but it is not hidden on the dash

 

Hidden in plain sight with a label that says "laser"


  • lyall said thank you

#7 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted April 07, 2013 - 06:11 PM

I have a zero turn in the shop now that someone put a toggle switch and a push button because the ignition switch and PTO switch went bad.   I know it took me less time to get the switches and replace them both then it did for who ever to drill the two holes and then rewire them.  It bets me why people don't do things the right way to begin with.


  • lyall said thank you

#8 wku88 OFFLINE  

wku88
  • Member
  • Member No: 32000
  • 22 Thanks
  • 35 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted April 07, 2013 - 09:23 PM

I am going to do the same with my 110. The new switch I got from Lowes today will show 12v when the switch is on, but cuts power when cranking. The only leg of the switch available is the "L" leg, which I assume means lights. So, it cuts power to the lights when cranking. Thus, I'll have to put a DPST toggle switch in so I get power to the coil while cranking.

 

Hope this helps...



#9 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,745 Thanks
  • 1,396 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted April 14, 2013 - 07:20 PM

I was working on the 210 this weekend checking the wiring over making sure the wiring is good

found out why they put it on.

the connector next the the motor had a bad connection to the coil

the two connection would not connect

took the connection apart and the female connection was bad 

tried a male connection it in , loose. so I crimped it tight and checked it the meter

good connection now

put it back together and check the other wiring - all looked and tested good on the meter

 

put the battery in and it fired up

it run good for sitting for around 10 years

smokes for a while has good compression 

 

it might take a while for the rings to free up






Top