Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Extension Cords.


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 NJKen OFFLINE  

NJKen
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9515
  • 1,359 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted April 04, 2013 - 07:07 PM

How many feet of them do you have ?

I've been on a mission the last few months to get my tools, tractor and outdoor equipment parts, electrical work stuff and just about everything I own in some kind of order. It amazed me to discover just how many feet of extension cords I have once they are all together. Over 1000'. All 10 & 12 gauge except for a few short 14 gauge. And that not counting the 16 gauge stuff used for Christmas lights only. I also have about 100' of 6-4 cord for the two 3 phase electric heaters that I rent out for temp construction heat.

I've got some serious cordage.
  • Craig., KennyP and LilysDad have said thanks

#2 Canawler OFFLINE  

Canawler

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1273
  • 1,893 Thanks
  • 1,750 posts
  • Location: York, PA

Posted April 04, 2013 - 07:29 PM

Whoa. Didn't even know they made three phase extension cords:-)
I'd love some 12 gauge cords but they're crazy expensive.

I've probably only got maybe 300ft??? Whatever it is, it's always about 10ft short of what I need.

Edited by Canawler, April 04, 2013 - 07:31 PM.

  • superaben said thank you

#3 Guest_gravely-power_*

Guest_gravely-power_*
  • Guests
  • Member No: 0
  • 0 Thanks

Posted April 04, 2013 - 07:41 PM

I have600'. I have 2 100' 8/4 SO I use at Christmas light time. I used to use them on construction sites. Heavy stuff.



#4 Canawler OFFLINE  

Canawler

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1273
  • 1,893 Thanks
  • 1,750 posts
  • Location: York, PA

Posted April 04, 2013 - 07:47 PM

There's a guy near me that does a big Christmas lights choreographed to music broadcast on FM radio display thing. Every year I wonder how many extension cords he must have..?

#5 Craig. OFFLINE  

Craig.

    Ronald Craig

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1842
  • 883 Thanks
  • 765 posts
  • Location: Indiana

Posted April 04, 2013 - 08:12 PM

Cleaned my garage after working on my grader two days ago and found 2 bran new tools still in boxes I bought last year and forgot about, and 3 Lowe's bags of gate hinges, Dermal bits, and drill bits. My next day off I'm going to clean the benches and see what I find.



#6 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted April 04, 2013 - 08:16 PM

I have one 50 foot cord, and a 25 foot cord; it is plenty for what I need, if I need more I use the generator.



#7 NJKen OFFLINE  

NJKen
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9515
  • 1,359 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted April 04, 2013 - 08:33 PM

Whoa. Didn't even know they made three phase extension cords:-)

I'd love some 12 gauge cords but they're crazy expensive.


I've probably only got maybe 300ft??? Whatever it is, it's always about 10ft short of what I need.


They don't I don't think. I bought the SJ cord and put twist lock ends on it.

#8 marlboro180 OFFLINE  

marlboro180
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10710
  • 634 Thanks
  • 954 posts
  • Location: SE WI

Posted April 04, 2013 - 08:34 PM

I bet I have 1000',  some in 8/3 , but only 50' of that stuff , then off to 10/ 3, 100 '.  Then 12/3, gawd only knows, except that it it takes up a ton of rack space along side the 14/3 on the wall right next to all the crap cords I need to fix! I got 150 ' of 12/3 going to my temp shed, LOL. ( and yes, I measured voltage drop at the length, and it looks fine....)

 

Ken, I agree, cordage is good, except when 'yer tripping on it , or it trips out  :-)



#9 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts
  • Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA

Posted April 04, 2013 - 08:34 PM

 Whatever it is, it's always about 10ft short of what I need.

 

Same thing over here.  Ryan's solution is the best: exercise the generator!

 

Ben W.



#10 Cat385B OFFLINE  

Cat385B

    Therapy CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,752 Thanks
  • 8,921 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted April 04, 2013 - 08:36 PM

I have one 50 foot cord, and a 25 foot cord; it is plenty for what I need, if I need more I use the generator.

 

Ditto, I just drag the big dog around. Loud, but it could use the exercise. I really need to mount that thing on a trailer, but everyone is awfully proud of their 3x5 heavy duty trailers around here.

 

gennie.jpg



#11 marlboro180 ONLINE  

marlboro180
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10710
  • 634 Thanks
  • 954 posts
  • Location: SE WI

Posted April 04, 2013 - 08:37 PM

Just saw the 3 phase reply- on the wrecking site I was on last year, we were running 800' or better  of 480 V 3 phase on twist - locks.

.



#12 NJKen OFFLINE  

NJKen
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9515
  • 1,359 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted April 04, 2013 - 09:13 PM

I smell like gasoline !! Just cleaned up this brand new used once 12 gauge 50' cord. It seems that someone borrowed it on a job site and pulled it through a freshly tarred roof. It's been sitting in a bucket for over a year. Just poured a little gas in and it cleaned the tar off, but stained the yellow. ImageUploadedByTapatalk1365127787.007371.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1365127871.114885.jpg .114885.jpg]

I've got 2 of these 50 amp power distribution boxes too, they get set up on bigger job sites. That I haven't had for a while.

Attached Thumbnails

  • ImageUploadedByTapatalk1365127955.379678.jpg


#13 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,487 Thanks
  • 39,722 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted April 05, 2013 - 06:23 AM

I'm guessing I have over 350' hung on the racks. Got a 5000 watt genset if needed. I should get it out and run it again.



#14 John@Reliable ONLINE  

John@Reliable

    Procrastinators unite tomorrow

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 36
  • 1,295 Thanks
  • 1,416 posts
  • Location: Boston- Cape Cod MA

Posted April 05, 2013 - 09:53 AM

I have about 200' of 10ga 30 amp cord,and another 500' of 12 & 14ga around the shop, I bet another 300' between the trucks of 14ga, generator and a few inverters too.  Adds up before you know it :thumbs:



#15 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,710 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted April 05, 2013 - 10:25 AM

I've got around 500-600 ' of 12 gauge.  I have about another 200' of 14 gauge and various smaller extension cords.






Top