Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Here We Go Again... Electrical Problem


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 SearsYellow OFFLINE  

SearsYellow

    Mower Extraordinaire

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10530
  • 449 Thanks
  • 562 posts
  • Location: Yadkinville, NC

Posted March 28, 2013 - 07:52 AM

I started the SS16 up yesterday and made a few laps around the yard. When I parked here I put her back inside the building and shut her off. When it came time for me to put the GT 19.9 in I had to move the SS16 over to make room for the deck that's on the 19.9. I tried turing the key and NOTHING happens. I wiggle a few wires around and again NOTHING happens.  I don't know if the solenoid went bad or what but last night I ordered 2 new switches and 2 new solenoids for BOTH my SS16's.

 

 

Anyone else have any ideas why it would start up one minute and not the next? The solenoid is not even making a clicking sound so I figured that's what went bad.



#2 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4243
  • 2,699 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted March 28, 2013 - 07:57 AM

I'm not even close to knowledgeable about the Sears tractors, but what about safety interlocks?  I've had enough issues with safety interlocks over the years that when something worked then suddenly doesn't, that's where I look.


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#3 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,804 Thanks
  • 7,545 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted March 28, 2013 - 08:26 AM

I agree to check the safeties. Also check your grounds.



#4 SearsYellow OFFLINE  

SearsYellow

    Mower Extraordinaire

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10530
  • 449 Thanks
  • 562 posts
  • Location: Yadkinville, NC

Posted March 28, 2013 - 08:27 AM

There is not any safetys on this one. I am not sure if they have been bypassed or they didn't come with the safetys.

 

While I was rewiring my other Sears I was using my running one as a template and noticed it didn't have the safetys (safeties) then.  I will have my Solenoids and Switches next tuesday (i bought them off ebay).



#5 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts
  • Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA

Posted March 28, 2013 - 08:42 AM

Bad connections in the battery cables did this to me on a Simplicity.  This is true especially if you have stud terminals and clamps.

 

Ben W.



#6 SearsYellow OFFLINE  

SearsYellow

    Mower Extraordinaire

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10530
  • 449 Thanks
  • 562 posts
  • Location: Yadkinville, NC

Posted March 28, 2013 - 08:45 AM

I did forget to check the ground coming from the battery. This is exactly why I posted this for. Sometimes I try to think technical but forget about the easy things to check.



#7 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,712 Thanks
  • 8,564 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted March 28, 2013 - 08:47 AM

Check fuses,  Could be an ignition switch, Check all your connections and make sure they are nice and tight and clean.



#8 JRJ OFFLINE  

JRJ
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 16399
  • 876 Thanks
  • 1,170 posts
  • Location: N.W. Arkansas

Posted March 28, 2013 - 10:04 AM

How old is the battery??? If in doubt take it to just about any auto parts store and request they do a load test which most of them will do at no charge, could be a bad cell, and let us know what you find out.

 

 

Dick



#9 SearsYellow OFFLINE  

SearsYellow

    Mower Extraordinaire

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10530
  • 449 Thanks
  • 562 posts
  • Location: Yadkinville, NC

Posted March 28, 2013 - 10:25 AM

Battery is basically brand new. It was bought new in 4/12. Holds an excellent charge.

 

 

Believe it or not there's no fuses on the SS16. There is on the SS18 but none on the SS16.

 

 

Later today I will go outside and check the ground. That's probably what it is. I have no clue why I didn't think of that last night.



#10 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,320 Thanks
  • 28,640 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted March 28, 2013 - 05:19 PM

If the ground checks out, You might want to break out the meter and check for volts at the solenoid.

#11 SearsYellow OFFLINE  

SearsYellow

    Mower Extraordinaire

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10530
  • 449 Thanks
  • 562 posts
  • Location: Yadkinville, NC

Posted March 28, 2013 - 07:54 PM

It's the switch. I checked it with the ohm meter and It's not registering any ohms whenever I turn the switch.



#12 SearsYellow OFFLINE  

SearsYellow

    Mower Extraordinaire

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10530
  • 449 Thanks
  • 562 posts
  • Location: Yadkinville, NC

Posted April 04, 2013 - 06:51 AM

Well I went crazy the other day and bought brand switches and solenoids for everything. Now hopefully I will not have to worry about a electrical issue for a while.




Top