Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

If You Answer This Question, I Promise It Won't Snow


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Chucknbob OFFLINE  

Chucknbob
  • Member
  • Member No: 22241
  • 90 Thanks
  • 72 posts
  • Location: SW Ohio

Posted March 23, 2013 - 10:40 AM

So, here in SW Ohio, they're planning on anywhere from 2 inches to 6+ inches of snow, depending on which weather station you watch, so I decided to put the blade on the 1254. This is the first time I've ever had the blade on it, because we've not had snow since I got it running. I'm pretty sure that being prepared for snow guarantees we won't get any :)

Does this look like its hooked up correctly? I added the chain and just put bolts in the front where it mounts to the frame. It looks right to me, but it is next to impossible to raise and lower it with the handle.
image.jpg image.jpg
  • Dieselcubmike and JRJ have said thanks

#2 Dieselcubmike OFFLINE  

Dieselcubmike
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 11127
  • 1,327 Thanks
  • 1,511 posts
  • Location: Southwestern,Pa

Posted March 23, 2013 - 10:48 AM

Well I know nothing about bolens lol. But maybe if you take out another link in the chain you can raise and lower it easier with the handle



#3 Newpaws493 OFFLINE  

Newpaws493
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9454
  • 1,150 Thanks
  • 1,691 posts
  • Location: Boston,Massachusetts

Posted March 23, 2013 - 11:53 AM

Can't see the area where it's bolted to frame but thats pretty much straight forward. As to the chain, as long as it's strong enough and that lift lever is all the way forward when you hook the chain on, I would think 'it should work'.



#4 fxrs55 ONLINE  

fxrs55
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10152
  • 337 Thanks
  • 239 posts
  • Location: new jersey

Posted March 23, 2013 - 11:57 AM

I think the  chain is mounted to the handle to low.

Its to close to the pivot point of handle.

Try attaching the chain higher up the handle

away from the pivot point of handle.



#5 LilysDad ONLINE  

LilysDad

    Cat Lover

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10443
  • 9,652 Thanks
  • 7,677 posts
  • Location: N. Illinois, DeKalb County

Posted March 23, 2013 - 12:13 PM

I just think if you looped the chain over the muffler, you will get more up pull.


  • Chucknbob said thank you

#6 Newpaws493 OFFLINE  

Newpaws493
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9454
  • 1,150 Thanks
  • 1,691 posts
  • Location: Boston,Massachusetts

Posted March 23, 2013 - 12:21 PM

This is what you're missing,  6873.jpg

 are you sure it's not just laying around there, winking at you?



#7 JRJ OFFLINE  

JRJ
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 16399
  • 876 Thanks
  • 1,170 posts
  • Location: N.W. Arkansas

Posted March 23, 2013 - 12:43 PM

That is similiar to the way mine is attached, the top bracket where the chain is attached should be about 10" from the top of the lift handle.

 

 

Dick



#8 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted March 23, 2013 - 01:30 PM

I think I would l look into one of those electric actuators or some type of wench to raise and lower the blade.  But I'm old so I like doing things the easy way.  

 

Are you sure that chain is strong enough?  I would think if the chain was raised in the middle with a pull it might be easier to raise and lower as well.



#9 Chucknbob OFFLINE  

Chucknbob
  • Member
  • Member No: 22241
  • 90 Thanks
  • 72 posts
  • Location: SW Ohio

Posted March 23, 2013 - 05:10 PM

This is what you're missing,  attachicon.gif6873.jpg
 are you sure it's not just laying around there, winking at you?


Nope, I don't have that piece. I may have to see if I can find one on eBay. In the meantime, the chain should work

#10 bread320i OFFLINE  

bread320i
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 416
  • 593 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Richfield Wisconsin

Posted March 23, 2013 - 05:29 PM

I have that lift bar just sitting here on a parts tractor. I have no use for it.  It is yours if you make a donation to GTTalk.com and pay shipping.

 

 

Nope, I don't have that piece. I may have to see if I can find one on eBay. In the meantime, the chain should work


  • Bolens 1000, Newpaws493 and MailmAn have said thanks

#11 Chucknbob OFFLINE  

Chucknbob
  • Member
  • Member No: 22241
  • 90 Thanks
  • 72 posts
  • Location: SW Ohio

Posted March 24, 2013 - 12:48 PM

I have that lift bar just sitting here on a parts tractor. I have no use for it.  It is yours if you make a donation to GTTalk.com and pay shipping.


I really appreciate that. If you pm me your address and let me know what you think shipping would be I will be happy to take it off your hands.

#12 crittersf1 OFFLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,169 Thanks
  • 5,761 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted March 24, 2013 - 12:51 PM

I think the  chain is mounted to the handle to low.

Its to close to the pivot point of handle.

Try attaching the chain higher up the handle

away from the pivot point of handle.

:iagree: :iagree: :iagree: :iagree: :iagree:



#13 bread320i OFFLINE  

bread320i
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 416
  • 593 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Richfield Wisconsin

Posted March 24, 2013 - 01:36 PM

The chain is hooked up in the proper spot the "lift rod" would be. Having the chain higher up would make it harder to lift as you would loose leverage.


  • MailmAn said thank you




Top