Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Headlight Fuse


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Rock farmer ONLINE  

Rock farmer
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10759
  • 1,119 Thanks
  • 1,177 posts
  • Location: York Maine

Posted March 21, 2013 - 07:13 PM

When I got my LGT 165 the lights did not work. I found the inline fuse holder which contained a blown 7.5 amp short buss fuse. I replaced it with a 9 amp fuse. That worked for a while. then blew. It seems to me it should use a twenty amp fuse?

The service manual only shows a fuse. It gives no value. I'm using a 15 amp now.

What should be there?

Thanks,

Joe

#2 johndeereelfman OFFLINE  

johndeereelfman

    Elfin Majic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3761
  • 5,480 Thanks
  • 2,535 posts
  • Location: Lititz, PA

Posted March 21, 2013 - 07:19 PM

Not sure about your Ford, but all of my John Deere's use 9 amp fuses. Not sure why your headlights are needing more than 9 amps. Something doesn't seem right there.



#3 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted March 21, 2013 - 07:21 PM

Are you sure that fuse is for the headlights only or is it a main fuse for the entire charging circuit. If it's the main fuse then it should be at least 15amps as that's what the generator coils would typically be in those Kohler K341 engines. 


  • johndeereelfman said thank you

#4 Rock farmer ONLINE  

Rock farmer
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10759
  • 1,119 Thanks
  • 1,177 posts
  • Location: York Maine

Posted March 21, 2013 - 07:50 PM

It's between the ignition key switch and the light switch. So it only protects the two headlight and the two tail lights. Was 7.5, Napa didn't have any 7.5 so I used a 9 amp. It snowed on the machine and the fuse blew. When I replaced it with the 15 amp, I found one headlight out. I replaced that, and all work.

Joe

#5 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,736 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 22, 2013 - 05:33 AM

There should be two fuses, one for lights & one for the charging circuit. If you are blowing fuses still, you may have a bad wire (insulation worn through?) somewhere. Doesn't take much to blow a fuse. I have no idea on the values of the fuses.


  • Rock farmer said thank you

#6 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted March 22, 2013 - 06:23 AM

There should be two fuses, one for lights & one for the charging circuit. If you are blowing fuses still, you may have a bad wire (insulation worn through?) somewhere. Doesn't take much to blow a fuse. I have no idea on the values of the fuses.

 

Kenny, is that info in the service manual? It seems like 9amps would be enough. With vibration, heat and the high inrush current when the lights are first turned on the fuse may have to be over rated in order to last. A burned out bulb can alos fail in a way that causes it to draw extra current before it pops.


  • Rock farmer said thank you

#7 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,736 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 22, 2013 - 07:06 AM

Kenny, is that info in the service manual? It seems like 9amps would be enough. With vibration, heat and the high inrush current when the lights are first turned on the fuse may have to be over rated in order to last. A burned out bulb can alos fail in a way that causes it to draw extra current before it pops.

 Yes. It shows 2 fuses in the wiring diagram. Nothing stated on fuse sizes, though, that I have found.


  • Rock farmer said thank you

#8 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,736 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 22, 2013 - 07:25 AM

I checked New Holland and the regulator fuse should be a 30 amp. Nothing on the lights fuse.



#9 Rock farmer ONLINE  

Rock farmer
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10759
  • 1,119 Thanks
  • 1,177 posts
  • Location: York Maine

Posted March 22, 2013 - 07:30 AM

I read the owners and service manuals. The only identify that fuses are there. No info on type or rating.

Joe

#10 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,736 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 22, 2013 - 07:42 AM

I read the owners and service manuals. The only identify that fuses are there. No info on type or rating.

Joe

That's what I found, Joe.


  • Rock farmer said thank you




Top