Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

A Network Cable Is Unplugged!


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,392 Thanks
  • 39,654 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 18, 2013 - 06:24 AM

Got an issue with the old HP Desktop. Found this on my network connection. Tried another known good cable and still no go. Uninstalled the ethernet adaptor, reinstalled it. Still the same issue. Thank God for the laptop! Got a couple more things to try, but may have to buy an ehternet card for it. This one is on the mother board.

Also, all other computers are working fine off the router, including this one. It's wireless! :D


  • larryd said thank you

#2 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,302 Thanks
  • 4,657 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted March 18, 2013 - 06:29 AM

The cards are the usual suspect..  Happy shopping!


  • KennyP and larryd have said thanks

#3 pigsitter OFFLINE  

pigsitter

    enjoyin the livin part of life!

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10704
  • 1,227 Thanks
  • 1,083 posts
  • Location: southern Illinois

Posted March 18, 2013 - 06:33 AM

Sure sounds like you're on the right track,I had the same thing happen to my old desktop,the network adapter built into the motherboard went bad,at least it's an easy project adding a network card,not to expensive either!


  • KennyP and larryd have said thanks

#4 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

    Therapy CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,695 Thanks
  • 8,888 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted March 18, 2013 - 06:35 AM

mick-stevens-man-s-large-desktop-computer-s-monitor-watches-him-as-he-uses-a-smaller-la-cartoon.jpg


  • WNYTractorTinkerer and larryd have said thanks

#5 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,392 Thanks
  • 39,654 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 18, 2013 - 06:55 AM

attachicon.gifmick-stevens-man-s-large-desktop-computer-s-monitor-watches-him-as-he-uses-a-smaller-la-cartoon.jpg

That's about the pic here right now, Cat! If all else fails, I can plug the BIG monitor into this laptop! :D


  • larryd said thank you

#6 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts
  • Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA

Posted March 18, 2013 - 06:59 AM

Kenny, did you check the grounds?  Are you getting power through the key switch?  Assuming battery ignition, do you get 12 volts at the coil when the key is on?  What about the plug wire, how old is it? Do you have a new gapped spark plug?

 

Ben W.


  • MH81, Texas Deere and Horse, KennyP and 3 others have said thanks

#7 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted March 18, 2013 - 07:01 AM

I use to get that same message on my old laptop.

The card was the problem.

It was such an old unit, I decided to just upgrade

to a new laptop. Back to school sales are great.


  • KennyP and larryd have said thanks

#8 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

    Therapy CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,695 Thanks
  • 8,888 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted March 18, 2013 - 07:04 AM

Put ag tires on the front, that might help.


  • IamSherwood, KennyP, pigsitter and 3 others have said thanks

#9 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted March 18, 2013 - 07:07 AM

Put ag tires on the front, that might help.

:bigrofl:  :bigrofl:


  • larryd said thank you

#10 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,302 Thanks
  • 4,657 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted March 18, 2013 - 07:30 AM

I use to get that same message on my old laptop.

The card was the problem.

It was such an old unit, I decided to just upgrade

to a new laptop. Back to school sales are great.

Maybe a new tower??  You can get a good one for about $400 with decent speed and latest software..  Theya re also wireless capable so you can toss the cable


Edited by WNYTractorTinkerer, March 18, 2013 - 07:32 AM.

  • IamSherwood, KennyP and larryd have said thanks

#11 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,392 Thanks
  • 39,654 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 18, 2013 - 07:33 AM

Maybe a new tower??  You can get a good one for about $400 with decent speed and latest software..

Hope to not have to go that far, but it's getting close to that time. Bad part is I like my old software!


  • larryd said thank you

#12 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted March 18, 2013 - 07:46 AM

Maybe a new tower??  You can get a good one for about $400 with decent speed and latest software..  Theya re also wireless capable so you can toss the cable

 

That's about what I paid for the new laptop, about a year and a half ago. I like being able

to just grab it, and take it to the shop, if I need to research as a I work on a GT. It's wireless, and

has no problems reaching the 150ft to the hub.


  • KennyP and larryd have said thanks

#13 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,302 Thanks
  • 4,657 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted March 18, 2013 - 07:48 AM

Hope to not have to go that far, but it's getting close to that time. Bad part is I like my old software!

Are you running Windows 98??  :watching_you:  :watch_over_fence:  :smashing_pc: 


  • larryd said thank you

#14 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

    Therapy CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,695 Thanks
  • 8,888 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted March 18, 2013 - 07:52 AM

Are you running Windows 98??  :watching_you:  :watch_over_fence:  :smashing_pc: 

Close....................

Windows%2095.jpg?__SQUARESPACE_CACHEVERS

:rolling:


  • WNYTractorTinkerer and larryd have said thanks

#15 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,392 Thanks
  • 39,654 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 18, 2013 - 08:04 AM

XP Home, SP3. The laptop has XP Pro!


  • larryd said thank you




Top