Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

My 1968 John Deere 110


  • Please log in to reply
653 replies to this topic

#481 Navy Chief OFFLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted December 26, 2013 - 04:45 PM

Travis has me desiring the Headlights and Taillight's now!! I might save my $ and order the set as a gift to me later!!


  • Trav1s said thank you

#482 Trav1s OFFLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted December 26, 2013 - 05:40 PM

The tails are easy and cheap from Napa.   :smilewink:   I am still looking for alternative for the headlights.  


  • Navy Chief said thank you

#483 SupplySergeant ONLINE  

SupplySergeant

    Eggman's Dad

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 45293
  • 1,088 Thanks
  • 660 posts
  • Location: Harrodsburg, KY

Posted December 26, 2013 - 05:49 PM

Spain you can have the headlights mounts and harness off my 140 for shipping. No panel though, both mine and my son's are broken. I plan to go with googly-eyes like the old 110's and Eggman doesn't want lights. Just let me know! 


  • Trav1s and Navy Chief have said thanks

#484 hdg4400 ONLINE  

hdg4400

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 6945
  • 255 Thanks
  • 327 posts
  • Location: Rochester, MN

Posted December 26, 2013 - 06:25 PM

Spain:

I wasn't much (if any) of a purist with my previous tractor, a JD 140. I bought 12 volt tractor lights at Northern, a pull switch at NAPA, and wired them into the wiring harness. For the front, I had some "L" brackets from my father-in-law. Here is a picture of the tractor before I sold it.

SAM_1312.JPG

Harlan
  • Trav1s said thank you

#485 Navy Chief OFFLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted December 26, 2013 - 10:11 PM

Spain:

I wasn't much (if any) of a purist with my previous tractor, a JD 140. I bought 12 volt tractor lights at Northern, a pull switch at NAPA, and wired them into the wiring harness. For the front, I had some "L" brackets from my father-in-law. Here is a picture of the tractor before I sold it.

attachicon.gifSAM_1312.JPG

Harlan

I think Grandpa had it like this before because it had an extra 2 hole drilled on both sides I fiberglassed them shut



#486 Navy Chief OFFLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted December 26, 2013 - 10:12 PM

Spain you can have the headlights mounts and harness off my 140 for shipping. No panel though, both mine and my son's are broken. I plan to go with googly-eyes like the old 110's and Eggman doesn't want lights. Just let me know! 

Ok, you think the harness is the same? what do you think postage will be, slow rate.



#487 SupplySergeant ONLINE  

SupplySergeant

    Eggman's Dad

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 45293
  • 1,088 Thanks
  • 660 posts
  • Location: Harrodsburg, KY

Posted December 27, 2013 - 08:22 AM

Ok, you think the harness is the same? what do you think postage will be, slow rate.

Not sure about the harness, but it's pretty simple. Cheapest rate to Houston is Priority Flat Rate Small box, it'll be $5.80. Just PM me your address if you want them.


  • Navy Chief said thank you

#488 Navy Chief OFFLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted December 31, 2013 - 12:27 PM

New gear oil held for 1 week I drained it out last night and will add the new gear oil that Lyall Rccm, Im also going to drain the engine and put the 30 Weight in there I finally found it.


  • lyall said thank you

#489 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,747 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted December 31, 2013 - 02:07 PM

Spain

glad that it is working for you.

I get my 30 wt motor oil  at a farm supply store in a 2 gallon container for less than $20



#490 Navy Chief OFFLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted January 01, 2014 - 08:34 PM

Spain

glad that it is working for you.

I get my 30 wt motor oil  at a farm supply store in a 2 gallon container for less than $20

We will see when I fill it full and drive it around



#491 Navy Chief OFFLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted January 04, 2014 - 01:21 PM

Serviced transmission with new oil, changed engine oil, installed mower deck I think the tractor to deck belt is routed wrong doesnt look right, any one have a picture of how it routes?

 

Drove the tractor around some, having the issue with the tractor ignition not shutting off sometimes, it will shut off if you put on the choke.


Edited by Spain, January 04, 2014 - 09:42 PM.


#492 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,747 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted January 04, 2014 - 11:50 PM

Spain

here is the routing for the deck belt

 

desk belt.png

 

belt length for a 39"  is around 87"

belt length for a 47" is around  102"


Edited by lyall, January 04, 2014 - 11:55 PM.

  • Navy Chief said thank you

#493 Navy Chief OFFLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted January 05, 2014 - 12:58 AM

I need how the PTO belt hooks from the PTO to the back of the mower deck??

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_1211.JPG
  • IMG_1213.JPG

Edited by Spain, January 05, 2014 - 01:01 AM.

  • Trav1s said thank you

#494 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,747 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted January 05, 2014 - 09:40 AM

deck belt 2.png

 

for the right belt length you need to go to Deere

 

different lengths of belts go on,  you need to have the model and serial number from the tractor and the deck so that Deere can get you the right belt length


  • Navy Chief said thank you

#495 Navy Chief OFFLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted January 05, 2014 - 10:22 AM

attachicon.gifdeck belt 2.png

 

for the right belt length you need to go to Deere

 

different lengths of belts go on,  you need to have the model and serial number from the tractor and the deck so that Deere can get you the right belt length

Awesome, I was looking back at my forumn first pages and James Henry sent me this pic along time ago appreciate both of you guys providing it for me, now I see how its routed wrong its on top of the small pulley verse under it.






Top