Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

My 1968 John Deere 110


  • Please log in to reply
653 replies to this topic

#376 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted November 09, 2013 - 10:44 AM

I am thinking it is time to deal backwards detective work.  I suggest beginning by comparing parts on the deck to the Deere dimensions.  I would suggest measuring the dimensions on the pullies currently installed then look at what Deere calls for.  

Here are the dimensions for the proper Deere pulley used on the idler and the tensioner:

 

Idler Pulley 4-3/8" OD, 4-1/8" flat Diameter, 3/4" flat width, 1" overall width, .669" bore

- replaces John Deere AM107468 / AM37249

 

Also,  Deere says the pullies on the spindles are 4" on the 39 deck.  The larger pulley from a 47 deck will work on the same spindle so I would also suggest checking measurements on the spindle pullies.  Also, swapping spindles from one deck to another is as simple as loosening 3 bolts.  One more though - larger pullies on the spindles will slow blade speed on the smaller deck with shorter blades.

Also, noticed this between the older 39 and the newer 39, 

 

Part #     Serial range                        Length      

M45998 - 176558     (A) DRIVE (39) 2.111 M (83.10")

M47043 176559 -     (A) DRIVE (39) 2.014 M (79.30")

 

Also, the Deere idler/tensioner pullies I have used were black since they were used on MULTIPLE applications (decks, snowblowers, etc)

 

One last thought - something makes me think the spindles and pullies were from a larger deck.  They were used to replace the original spindles with bad bearings.  I could be wrong...

 

Save the diagram I attached then print it for your reference.  :smilewink:

Attached Thumbnails

  • MP2571_________UN01JAN94.gif

Edited by Trav1s, November 09, 2013 - 10:46 AM.

  • Navy Chief said thank you

#377 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted November 09, 2013 - 06:06 PM

See below


Edited by Spain, November 09, 2013 - 06:36 PM.


#378 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted November 09, 2013 - 06:10 PM

Postive issue I installed the HapCO new sticker mower deck set, Looks sharp

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_1128.JPG
  • IMG_1129.JPG

  • Trav1s and SupplySergeant have said thanks

#379 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted November 09, 2013 - 06:31 PM

I am thinking it is time to deal backwards detective work.  I suggest beginning by comparing parts on the deck to the Deere dimensions.  I would suggest measuring the dimensions on the pullies currently installed then look at what Deere calls for.  

Here are the dimensions for the proper Deere pulley used on the idler and the tensioner:

 

 

Also,  Deere says the pullies on the spindles are 4" on the 39 deck.  The larger pulley from a 47 deck will work on the same spindle so I would also suggest checking measurements on the spindle pullies.  Also, swapping spindles from one deck to another is as simple as loosening 3 bolts.  One more though - larger pullies on the spindles will slow blade speed on the smaller deck with shorter blades.

Also, noticed this between the older 39 and the newer 39, 

 

Also, the Deere idler/tensioner pullies I have used were black since they were used on MULTIPLE applications (decks, snowblowers, etc)

 

One last thought - something makes me think the spindles and pullies were from a larger deck.  They were used to replace the original spindles with bad bearings.  I could be wrong...

 

Save the diagram I attached then print it for your reference.  :smilewink:

 I measured them, The pulley that moves with the Spring attached is 4 1/8" and the upper pulley is 4 1/8" and the 3 spindles are 4" So by what you say above, it appears that pulleys are correct?, so JD has made the belt per the Parts MAnual not long enough, SO I should go tell JD there belt isn't long enough


Edited by Spain, November 09, 2013 - 06:41 PM.


#380 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted November 09, 2013 - 07:07 PM

I would say that they are correct for the serial number on the deck.  What belt # do you have again?



#381 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted November 09, 2013 - 07:55 PM

I would say that they are correct for the serial number on the deck.  What belt # do you have again?

 

I measured those 2 again they are exactly 4 3/8 from edge to edge Belt M45998 its the bigger one per the Parts Manual and works on 47"



#382 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted November 09, 2013 - 08:28 PM

Going up to Deere Monday and show them picture and tell them their Parts Manual is wrong and try to get a another belt or my $$ back



#383 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted November 11, 2013 - 07:22 PM

Went up to John Deere today, I showed them the diagram REV gave me and I took a pic of the belt NOT fitting, and I took my Serial Numbers, they researched it and REV was right that's the P/N BUT it wont fit, they said are you sure your deck is not a 47"? I said even if it is that is still the right P/N belt!! They said yea your right. They refunded my money, now I have to go to NAPA.

 

P.S. I verified that I have the right pulleys, I took apart the Patio deck and yep my pulleys are all the same



#384 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted November 11, 2013 - 09:03 PM

Did the patio deck have a belt on it?  I am taking note of this as I think about the 110 awaiting work.



#385 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted November 12, 2013 - 02:26 PM

No belt on the Patio but mine has a NAPA belt, Im going there today to get one. Apparently Grandpa might have had the same issue back in 1991.



#386 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted November 12, 2013 - 03:44 PM

This really has me puzzled...  I hope to check out the deck on my 110 on Friday and will report back.



#387 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted November 12, 2013 - 06:46 PM

Napa ordered me the belt, I think they said the number on it was a 50" I pick it up tomorrow $25.99 Same as the JD OEM belt price, I tried the old NAPA belt again tonight and it fits really nice and tight when tensioned up.


  • Trav1s said thank you

#388 SupplySergeant ONLINE  

SupplySergeant

    Eggman's Dad

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 45293
  • 1,084 Thanks
  • 658 posts
  • Location: Harrodsburg, KY

Posted November 12, 2013 - 09:42 PM

Postive issue I installed the HapCO new sticker mower deck set, Looks sharp

Looks really good! Glad to hear you got a belt to work.



#389 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted November 13, 2013 - 07:37 PM

Received belt   from NAPA total was $29.00 with tax. Installed the belt fits great. So if you need a belt for the 39" or 47" mower deck the NAPA Part Number B87 50 it says industrial belt so it should be strong.

 

 

Installed cover with the new nuts washers and lock washers. Working on painting connecting arms now, then I have to get the blades sharpened

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_1130.JPG
  • IMG_1131.JPG
  • IMG_1132.JPG


#390 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted November 13, 2013 - 07:41 PM

NExt item, a friend blew out the carb for me yes it had crap in it he said, now Im going to soak it in my new carb cleaner gallon can for a couple of days, then rebuild it WISH ME LUCK






Top