Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

My 1968 John Deere 110


  • Please log in to reply
653 replies to this topic

#256 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted October 03, 2013 - 08:39 AM

Bummer,

 

No spark at all now on the spark plug when placed touched to block? The condenser as stated above was a kit one which comes with a wire kit not showed for my model in the parts manuals, I assume it doesn't work correctly, wrong power of not enough ohms or power don't know, I guess it could also be coil gone bad.

 

The only good thing is I have clean gas and gas is getting into the cylinder chamber now.



#257 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted October 03, 2013 - 10:37 AM

Re checked point gap its tight at.020 per manual.  I ran a "HOT" wire to the resister block and cranked engine, I got such a powerful spark off the spark plug against the block it shocked my hand thru the insulated pliers, the good news is the points and condenser and coil is good!!!

 

Now I don't know what's causing "NO POWER" to the resistor block from the wire harness; ADVICE Please? 

 

Remember I ran a new power wire, maybe I need to  hook it up somewhere else? or is it the ignition switch?

 

Im going to try to start it with the Hot wire later, just to run the engine and set the carb idle


Edited by Spain, October 03, 2013 - 10:37 AM.


#258 dropped82 ONLINE  

dropped82

    Nut Case

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 9923
  • 1,401 Thanks
  • 1,230 posts
  • Location: Indiana

Posted October 03, 2013 - 10:46 AM

I think you answered you own question. If you have a new wire from the switch to the block then the switch is the only thing left in the system. Just check to be sure your getting power to the switch. If so then replace the switch.

Eric

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk 2


  • Trav1s and Navy Chief have said thanks

#259 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted October 03, 2013 - 11:18 AM

Can I connect it to another wire off the ignigtion switch?



#260 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted October 06, 2013 - 05:12 PM

Started it today with the hot wire, ran good at first than died, then would only crank with starter fluid, I think the gas is still bad from the rust remover even though I cleaned the tank with gas rinse, gas didn't even smell like gas, I drained it and will have to clean tank again.

 

Still haven't figured out the " NO Power" to resistor issue

 

Tomorrow going to clean out gas tank again and clean carp out again, even if I can run it with the hot wire, I can get the carb settings set up right and run it for a while.


Edited by Spain, October 06, 2013 - 10:56 PM.

  • Trav1s said thank you

#261 dyt4000 OFFLINE  

dyt4000

    Member

  • Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 405
  • 17 Thanks
  • 74 posts
  • Location: Northeast Florida

Posted October 06, 2013 - 06:40 PM

Just get a test light and start working your way back...


  • Navy Chief said thank you

#262 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted October 08, 2013 - 04:27 PM

Applied last coat of primer after a wet sand, and applied first coat of JD green

 

Attached a pic of the hood before it was repaired, looks a million times better

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_1046.JPG
  • IMG_1047.JPG
  • IMG_1048.JPG
  • IMG_0409.JPG

Edited by Spain, October 08, 2013 - 04:32 PM.


#263 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,747 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted October 08, 2013 - 11:05 PM

great job on the hood

 

I got 3 hoods that I need to fix

trying to locate a good hood so that I can make a plaster cast of it, so that I can fix them


  • Navy Chief said thank you

#264 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted October 10, 2013 - 06:21 PM

Deep cleaned gas tank again washed out with several tanks and swished gas looks good now

 

Cleaned carb set up per OEM manual, installed now fuel is running out the front when gas valve turned on, just cant get one foot in front of the other, (now I have to figure this out) Im glad I got gas before I wasn't getting any now I have too much

 

Wet sand and applied 2nd coat of JD green to hood

 

I still don't know where to begin on the now power tot he ignition system issue.



#265 dropped82 ONLINE  

dropped82

    Nut Case

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 9923
  • 1,401 Thanks
  • 1,230 posts
  • Location: Indiana

Posted October 10, 2013 - 07:19 PM

I would replace the ignition switch. Sorry I didn't have one for you. Check ebay, I'm sure there is something on there. If you have power to the switch but nothing after then the switch is your culprit.

Eric

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk now Free


  • Trav1s and Navy Chief have said thanks

#266 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted October 11, 2013 - 08:12 AM

I would replace the ignition switch. Sorry I didn't have one for you. Check ebay, I'm sure there is something on there. If you have power to the switch but nothing after then the switch is your culprit.

Eric

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk now Free

 

I would agree with Eric.  IIRC my ignition switch was less than $15.  I wonder if I still have the old one...


  • Navy Chief said thank you

#267 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted October 11, 2013 - 09:45 AM

The engine will crank, it just doesnt provide power to the ignition system and the wiring diagram sucks



#268 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted October 13, 2013 - 02:34 PM

Figured out carb issue float jet was sticking fixed that adjusted float per manual.

HOT wired ignition from battery to resistor block, "Had to use starter spray" got it started, adjusted carb high and low idle, sounds good low and high power.

Disconnected hot wire, it wouldn't shut off, turned off ignition switch it wouldn't turn off, put choke on it finally shut off. (I don't know how it could keep running with the hot wire disconnected?)

 

Also just a note, I had to put the choke off and the power lever near idle with the started spray to get it to start

 

1. So my issues are No power to resistor block going to order ignition switch

2. Engine wont start without started spray? I have to figure this one out

Attached Files


Edited by Spain, October 13, 2013 - 02:42 PM.


#269 Navy Chief ONLINE  

Navy Chief
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 30322
  • 152 Thanks
  • 408 posts
  • Location: Houston, Tx

Posted October 13, 2013 - 05:17 PM

Part 2 today, Saw on line forums which stated don't to use starter fluid due to it will burn a hole in the piston, they rccm you use B12, it worked I started it I also added "Seafoam" to the gas and ran the engine like 15mins, the online forum said that being its running the seafoam will clean out the carb and jets as its running.

 

Im wondering if something is wrong with my carb it will not start on its on with out help

 

Note I also noticed the AMP meter shows nothing, maybe because ignition switch is bad.



#270 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,747 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted October 13, 2013 - 06:29 PM

check with your JD dealer first on the ignition switch

I have found out the parts for JD dealer are sometimes cheaper than E-Bay or any other place

 

got a ignition switch from a JD dealer and it was cheaper the any other place and it fits right

the others I looked at were larger and would have to drill out the hole for the switch






Top