• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Donnie OFFLINE  

Donnie
  • Member No: 28291
  • 40 Thanks
  • 37 posts

Posted March 04, 2013 - 10:40 AM

I am new to hydraulic priciples, and have read some great tutorials that have been linked here. I noticed that on a Sunstrand inline hydrostatic  transmission, there is a need for a charging pump due to cavitation. Is this because that the case serves as the resevoir ? Is air entering the line because the case cannot be filled completely ? It seems if I am correct the same components running seperately , with a seperate reservoir have no need for a charge pump.

I should never started studying hydraulics !  Its like a drug !  I find myself mulling over questions all the time now, like a child, why? why ? why ?

Thanks for taking the time to read guys ! :wave:

sorry for the edit, I was wondering if it could be due to the res not being higher than the pump, no flow to the pump.

Edited by Donnie, March 04, 2013 - 10:42 AM.

• boyscout862 said thank you

#2 JRJ OFFLINE  

JRJ
  • Member No: 16399
  • 876 Thanks
  • 1,170 posts

Posted March 04, 2013 - 11:26 AM

Welcome to GTTalk, if I was you sitution I would find myself the manual that deals with the hydraulics of your make and model of tradtor.

Dick

#3 Guest_rat88_*

Guest_rat88_*
  • Guests
  • Member No: 0
  • 0 Thanks

Posted March 04, 2013 - 11:37 AM

The charge pump provides positive pressure for the suction side of the main pump, it kinda works like a 2 stage air compressor.

• boyscout862 said thank you

#4 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted March 04, 2013 - 11:40 AM

This link may help. http://www.machinery...mission-leakage

• twostep said thank you

#5 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

Tinker Master

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,319 Thanks
  • 4,666 posts