Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Ford Lgt 195

installing a loader

  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 2,806 Thanks
  • 2,208 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted March 02, 2013 - 06:41 PM

this is my first post on this site,

 I am going to be installing a johnson model 12 loader that i picked up (set up for an older bolens) on my newly acquired 195 my question is should i tap into the hydraulics of the tractor or mount the pump that came with it? if i did this right there should  be an attached pic of the loader and the tractor

Thanks for any input good or bad, I appreciate it.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 195 ford.jpg
  • IMG_0095.JPG

  • boyscout862 and Newpaws493 have said thanks

#2 poncho62 ONLINE  

poncho62
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 42
  • 634 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Hanover, Ont, Canada

Posted March 02, 2013 - 07:31 PM

Welcome to the site.....I would use the pump that came with the loader......no sense overworking your existing pump.

 

Question...Is that blower set up on the back of your LGT?.....I would like to mount something like that on one of mine



#3 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

    PK Fanatic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7087
  • 3,239 Thanks
  • 5,159 posts
  • Location: Wallkill, NY

Posted March 02, 2013 - 07:39 PM

Welcome to the site!

I agree, use the pump you got with the loader. The current pump may not have the correct GPM to run the loader efficiently.

#4 Rock farmer ONLINE  

Rock farmer
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10759
  • 1,119 Thanks
  • 1,177 posts
  • Location: York Maine

Posted March 02, 2013 - 07:41 PM

Welcome to gttalk!

I'm no expert on this stuff. But, I think you'll need that pump. The hydro just doesn't pump enough fluid to work a loader.

Ford LGT 195 is a beast of a tractor! I have a LGT-125 and LGT-165. You may need a resouver tank to hold the hydro oil for when the cylinder are extended.

Joe

#5 Guest_rat88_*

Guest_rat88_*
  • Guests
  • Member No: 0
  • 0 Thanks

Posted March 02, 2013 - 08:20 PM

I have a 195 with a power angle front blade. It works but not real fast. The OEM pump wont have the gpm to run a loader

#6 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,736 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 02, 2013 - 08:23 PM

Welcome to the forum! Nice tractor and loader! We have a few more 195 owners around somewhere!



#7 Newpaws493 ONLINE  

Newpaws493
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9454
  • 1,150 Thanks
  • 1,691 posts
  • Location: Boston,Massachusetts

Posted March 02, 2013 - 08:25 PM

Welcome aboard! Thanks for signing up, Enjoy the forum. That looks like a nice setup you've got to work with, lookin forward to your updates! :thumbs:  



#8 bhts OFFLINE  

bhts

    Bob's Lawn and Garden Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 945
  • 1,415 Thanks
  • 2,118 posts
  • Location: ohio

Posted March 02, 2013 - 08:32 PM

Welcome to the site.....I would use the pump that came with the loader......no sense overworking your existing pump.

 

Question...Is that blower set up on the back of your LGT?.....I would like to mount something like that on one of mine

 That tractor use to belong to a friend of mine and yes the blower is hooked up on the back with a 3-point and is shaft driven. And the chute is electric.

 

And Tom welcome to GTTalk nice tractor.



#9 skyrydr2 OFFLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,418 Thanks
  • 3,165 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted March 02, 2013 - 08:41 PM

Welcome Tom, you must use the pump that came with the loader, the transmission charge pump is only good for 800 psi max and 1. GPM max at 0 psi.
I would love to find one of those 195' s !! I could really use it with a nice turbo diesel .

#10 A.C.T. ONLINE  

A.C.T.

    Another Classic Tractor

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 11085
  • 2,363 Thanks
  • 2,496 posts
  • Location: Dalbo Minnesota

Posted March 02, 2013 - 09:07 PM

welcome.png

 

You got a great GT!



#11 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,653 Thanks
  • 29,841 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted March 02, 2013 - 09:32 PM

Welcome Tom, and as been stated, DO use the dedicated hydraulic pump for the loader.  Using your hydro charge pump would give you so much time between loader cylinder cycles to write a book about how not to power a loader.  You'll be happy as a clam when you get this loader going.  I cannot get by without my Massey 1855 w/FEL, and I have a Cat & IH wheeled payloaders.  Just so many jobs only a small loader can do.



#12 TomLGT195 ONLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 2,806 Thanks
  • 2,208 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted March 03, 2013 - 06:57 AM

thanks for the input.

the blower is Canadian made and runs on a homemade pto drive under the tractor. only problem so far (only used it once) is the rear 3 pt does not float, its power down and backing up you constantly have to move it up and down with the terrain. great if your drive way is flat. That may be up for sale if its in the way of the loader.

 

the follow up question is : Do I mount the pump up front on the aux pulleys that work off the switch? Thats where the pto shaft is presently setup. 


Edited by TomLGT195, March 03, 2013 - 06:58 AM.


#13 skyrydr2 OFFLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,418 Thanks
  • 3,165 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted March 03, 2013 - 07:10 AM

It can be mounted there or off the flywheel side , and thus becoming an aux. Permanate circuit that could be used with the proper valving to " float" your snowblower. :)

#14 crittersf1 ONLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,169 Thanks
  • 5,761 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted March 03, 2013 - 07:18 AM

Having never been around a blower I believe I'd keep it if I lived up there.



#15 Guest_rat88_*

Guest_rat88_*
  • Guests
  • Member No: 0
  • 0 Thanks

Posted March 03, 2013 - 09:08 AM

I dont know if there is a floater upgrade for the LGT195. I built floater extension for the rock shaft. I will try to get pics today.






Top